Racing News


Fayetteville Motor Speedway Ready for 2008 Racing Action

By Larry Long, FMS Press


      Fayetteville, NC February 25, 2008 It’s time for another great season of dirt track action at Fayetteville Motor Speedway at the 4/10 mile clay oval located on Doc Bennett Rd in Fayetteville. This will be the 38th season of racing at the fast clay oval and the schedule has a lot of great shows set this season which includes four Carolina Clash Series battles along with a $10,000 to win Lucas Oil Late Model Show on June 21 and Jeff Smith of Dallas the 2007 NAPA Super Late Model Champion at Fayetteville Speedway posting 7 wins along the way and he’ll  be the defending Lucas event defending champion, Jacksonville’s Earl Pearson is the 4 time Lucas Oil Series champion and is after his 5th straight Lucas Oil crown this season.

       The World of Outlaws Late Model action makes it’s first visit ever to Fayetteville Clay oval on August 15 paying the winner $10,000 and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY is the defending WOO Defending series champion.

      Rutherfordton speedster Ricky Weeks is eyeing his fifth Clash Championship in 2008 and we’ll see if anyone can unseat the veteran hard charger, could Jeff Smith or Rambo Franklin or many other top drivers find a way to take the Clash crown from Weeks this year. The Clash first stop at FMS will be April 12 paying $4,000 to win.

      Smith outran Craig Shuffield of Fayetteville for top honors in the NAPA Super Late Model ranks last year to earn the big $5,000 check and this year the points fund for the track will be over $25,000 to be paid out for all regular classes for their efforts. The NAPA Auto Parts Super Late Model champ will earn a $7,000 bonus at the ESPN Radio 1450 Awards night come next January. Fayetteville’s David Taylor placed third last season with Mike Mason of Spring Lake four and defending Crazy 8 champion back in 2003 Shawn Beasley of Raeford finished fifth. The Crazy 8 Super Late Model shows this year will pay $2,500 to the winner, all Super Late Model events will be point races at FMS and all drivers can throw away one finish this year in his final points tally. Beasley won the 2003 FMS Crazy 8 Crown by 10 points over Greensboro’s Ray Tucker and David Taylor placed third in the final Crazy 8 points chase. Ricky Boahn of Puppy Creek and Dean Bowen of Whiteville, Fayetteville’s Travis Hair and some other Super Late Model drivers are looking at the big bucks in 2008 as well.

      The Track holds practice for all classes March 1 & 8 from 12 until 5 pm and the Season Opens March 15 with the Crazy 8 Super Late Model showdown on tap plus all regular classes in action that includes Super Street, Late Models, Open Wheel Mods, and U-Cars Coming on May 10 It those big Monster Trucks back in town for action again at FMS..

     The HGR Late Model class will be looking at a Championship bonus of $2,000 this year. Willie Milliken of Leland will be the Defending champion as he held off Timmy Neighbors of Bunnlevel for the title last year in a very close chase until the final event. The 2006 champ D J Tyndall of Dunn finished third last year with a pair of upstarts drivers eyeing a title this year ran fourth and fifth last season Ronald Hammond and Denton Little of Fayetteville. Who’ll be the 2008 champ? Look for Jimmy Edwards Jr. along with Garry Frederick, Shaun Harrell to turn their programs around this year.

       The Mid South Auto Recycling Open Wheel Mod defending champ will be David Hart of Carthage as he seeks to make it two in a row this year and he’ll face some challenges from Mack Coxe of Raeford after his running up finish last year along

       18 year old Travis Yow is looking to be a contender all year along with a pair of veterans Jeff Tyndall of Autryville and Hank Edwards of Hope Mills.  Yow, Tyndall and Edwards finished 3, 4 and 5 in the chase last season. Carlos Jaramillo, Chuck Jackson, Mike Beasley along with Robert and Donald Davis and maybe Benji Thompson all are looking a way to grab that crown this year as well. This will be one very good support classes this year at FMS. Some newcomers could play the spoiler role as well.

        In the Moffitt Machine Shop Super Street division last year top winner at FMS was Glenn “Fireball” Howard as he took the Super Street and Pure Stock titles back to Wade and now he’ll look at his class this year as the Pure Stocker will be moving to this class or elsewhere in 2008. 2006 champion Ricky Butler settled for second place last year with Hope Mills upstart driver Gregg Bass Jr. third followed by hard charging Josh Mitchell fourth and Terry Coonfield of Raeford rounded out the top five in points. Look for some newcomers in this class this season at FMS.

        “Fast” Eddie Longhany topped the Auto Plus U-Cars division last year and may be ready to defend his title or move up. Greg Young ran second with David Nelson third in the chase. Abe Woodard was fourth with A J Huffman rounding out the top five in points in 2007.

         2007 ESPN Radio 1450 Awards winners included veteran Timmy Neighbors, won the 2007 Smith Photography Sportsmanship Award. 2007 Most Improved Driver was Jonathan Gunther, 2007 Rookie of the Year honors went to upstart Ricky Bledsoe, 2007 Headache Award winner was Wayne Gray Jr. 2007 FMS Driver of the Year Glenn Howard,  Jimmy “Porky” Edwards Jr. got the Children Appreciation plaque plus a plaque for winning his 400th career race last year. The ESPN Radio 1450 Awards night in January also saw four new Inductions to the FMS Hall of Fame drivers Glenn McDuffie, Donald Raynor, David Atkins and veteran Race Announcer Larry Long, Martin Roberts presented all those a plaque on Awards night at the Holiday Inn Bordeaux in Fayetteville over 250 people enjoyed a nice Gala evening with the FMS staff. It will be even better awards night after this season at FMS.

      Drivers MUST get race receivers by March 15 call Larry Norris at 1-910-567-2933!!

The J&N Auto Enduro ranks has David Nelson as the defending two time champion as he outran Abe Woodard for the honors last year with Walt”007” Bond third followed by Jason Edwards fourth and Blake Pierce roared to a fifth place finish in the points last season. The Young Guns Class should be interesting for the Young drivers this year.

The 2008 FMS Championship point battles will be sponsored by Bobby Taylor Oil-VP Race Fuels and American Race Tires. David Taylor staff will be trackside weekly with the fuel and tires at FMS. Dunn-Benson Racing Supply will be in the Pits weekly with all your race parts see Frankie and Kemp.  Dunn Benson Ford in Dunn will be the Winners Circle sponsor this season.

       Promoters Larry Norris and Ed Longhany and the entire staff at FMS welcomes all car owners and drivers and all great race fans weekly for some very good exciting dirt track action all season, do it in the dirt. Good Luck to all race teams and Drivers and crews in 2008. Race fans please support all our loyal sponsors of racing at FMS this season.


Larry Long,

FMS Press 2008



Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013