Racing News


Weeks Wins NAPA Crazy 8 Season Opener

By Larry Long, FMS Press


      Fayetteville, NC March 23, 2008- The 38th season opener for the NAPA Crazy 8 Super Late Model Series got interesting early on in the 25 lap affair at Fayetteville Motor Speedway on this Saturday night 29 cars entered the battle for a $2,500 paycheck.

      4 Time Carolina Clash champ Ricky Weeks of Rutherfordton grabbed the pole with a lap of 17.545 in his Rocket machine powered by those Clements Race Engines. Fayetteville’s Timmy Blackwell started outside the front row in his Blackwell Landscaping-Blackwell Construction mount looking to get some attention for the Blackwell Race teams. Weeks took the point as the green flag waved but Blackwell tucked right behind him and the race was on for sure. Weeks held his line and Blackwell tried his best several times to duck under Weeks but never could make the pass in the first half of the show and Blackwell slips off the pace in the final few laps and let Jeff Smith of Dallas the defending NAPA Super Late Model champion at FMS try his hand at over taking a hooked up Weeks.  Smith had roared from his 11th spot in the starting field to take the second spot as the laps were winding down and it would be Weeks taking the opening NAPA Crazy 8 Super Late Model checkers over Smith at the finish line. This was Weeks second win of the season in as many starts. Smith in his J&J Race cars-Starrette Trucking-Norton Stereo entry settled for a runner-up night with a hard charging Chris Blackwell of Fayetteville in his Blackwell Landscaping hot rod placing third for the showdown. A pair of former Carolina Clash champions ran fourth and fifth Fayetteville’s Scott Autry for L&M Convenience Marts-Wood’s Logging-S&D Florist was fourth and Ed Gibbons of Manning rounded out the top five finishers in his Carquest Auto Parts-Wood’s Logging mount. Defending NAPA Crazy 8 champion Shawn Beasley of Raeford finished sixth for TRO-Cain Builders-Beasley Body Shop in his MasterSbilt chassis. Dan “The Man” Breuer of Mooresville put his LB Racing-Woods Construction entry in the seventh place

         Timmy Blackwell enjoyed an eighth place run and was pleased with his performance on this evening. Puppy Creek’s Ricky Boahn put his Bob Pierce Chassis mount for Star Leasing-Menscer Motorsports-Pepsi-Smith International-Stoughton Trailers in the ninth spot for the night. Mooresville’s speed demon G R Smith took home tenth place evening.

       Weeks comments after the win “It was a good win for us and gets us off to a good start in the chase for the $20,000 bonus money up between Fayetteville Speedway and the Carolina Clash Series. Weeks later said “The track was a little rough, but a lot of tracks are that way these days”. Weeks added” We are running our 25th season of Late Model racing, so we put the number 25 on the car and made it black this year and were going to see if we can win the NAPA Crazy 8 & Clash Crown this season and thanks to our sponsors Parton Lumber Co, Starrette Trucking, VP Race Fuels and AFCO Shocks they make this deal for us work. ”Weeks comments on his best highlights in 24 years of racing” We had a lot and winning 4 Clash titles along with 7 Cherokee titles are among some of the best highlights plus winning several Skyler Trull Memorial events plus other big series events they have all been specials”.  The Blackwell Brothers turned some heads on this evening and they are very much in the chase for the Crazy 8 championship honors along with a lot of others after the opening night showdown. Autry the 2002 Clash champ had a solid night along with 2001 Clash champion Gibbons. The next NAPA Crazy 8 event rolls April 5 at FMS it is round 2 of the 14 Super Late Model shows for 2008. Who’ll be the Crazy 8 Champion in 2008 and pull into the Dunn-Benson Ford Winner’s circle for the big payday?

           The HGR Truck & Trailers Late Model event saw Shaun Harrell of Raeford roll up the top honors for Carolina Concrete Finish and Midway Storage as Harrell got his first win of the season in a strong effort holding off last weeks winner and defending champ Willie Milliken of Leland at the stripe. Milliken has already won 3 shows in the region in 2008 in his GRT ride powered by a Naylor Race Engine and sponsored by TWA Concrete-Lease Wholesale-Corky’s Auto Sales again this year. Wayne Gray Jr. of Fayetteville placed third for WG Landscaping-Dunn Benson Racing Supply with Upstart Denton Little of Fayetteville fourth for Monty’s Heating &AC-Skan Electric and Little has a pair of front row starts and one pole in two starts for Little Motorsports in 2008. Jimmy Edwards Jr. of Hope Mills rolled up a fifth place finish for Garry’s Paint and Body Shop and Logan’s Roadhouse-BTO on this Saturday night of action.  Milliken and Harrell each have posted one win this season at FMS.

     In The Mid South Auto Recycling Open Wheel Mod battle saw Autryville’s Jeffrey Tyndall take the lead and did not want to give it up as he battle 17 year old Travis Yow of Fayetteville and Andy Floyd of  Vass in the final handful of laps. Tyndall in his Kelly Heating &AC-RCR Pierce Chassis even with a cut down front tire tried to bring home the win only to spin out and give Floyd his first win of the season for the Moore County based team. Fayetteville’s hotshoe Carlos Jaramillo ran second for Mid South Wrecker Service and Auto Recycling. Jordon Taylor of Fayetteville posted a third place night in the rundown for BTO-AMP Energy Drink and Taylor coming around early in the season. Hank Edwards of Hope Mills ran fourth for Williams Motorsports and Nursery in Ash, NC then came Crystal Carter of Fayetteville in the C 1 Mobile Homes-RCR entry fifth for the show.

     Fayetteville’s A J Huffman would not go away this week in the Auto Plus U Cars event as Huffman out ran Mike Parker Jr. in his Parker’s Service Center entry for top honors. Blake Pierce took third place with David “Cowboy” Nelson fourth and he’s ready for a win after two events. Bradley Gray logged a fifth place evening. Defending Champ Fast Eddie Longhany ha woes under the hood on this evening and he’ll be back ready to run hard this week.

      The Young Guns show saw Dylan Hammond take the top honors over Zack Blackwell and Daulton Wilson and this class is going to be something special for these young drivers.

      March 29 will be a good night of regular divisions of racing on tap and make your plans to attend as they do it in the dirt again and Grandstands opens at 5 pm.

Cynthia-Diana Long
EarthLink Revolves Around You.


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013