Racing News


Fayetteville Speedway Ready for Second NAPA Crazy 8 Super Showdown April 5.

By Larry Long, FMS Press


     Fayetteville, NC March 30, 2008- Rain Showers hit in the Cape Fear Region Saturday afternoon March 29 and washed out the scheduled program. This Saturday evening April 5 it will be a full night of dirt kickin excitement for sure as the second round of the NAPA Crazy 8 Super Late Model showdown takes center stage with $2,500 going to the race winner plus all support classes on this Saturday’s showdown..

     Rutherfordton’s speedster and 4 time Clash champion Ricky Weeks will be entering this NAPA Crazy 8 show holding the points lead over defending NAPA FMS Super Late Model champion Jeff Smith of Dallas with Fayetteville’s Chris Blackwell third in the Crazy 8 point chase.  A pair of former Carolina Clash champions Scott Autry of Fayetteville and Ed Gibbons of Manning, SC are fourth and fifth in the points entering this Saturday action.. Autry won  the Clash Crown in 2002 while Gibbons earned that honor in 2001.

     Sixth rough tenth in the Crazy 8 chase is defending Crazy 8 champion Shawn Beasley of Raeford in his Beasley’s Body Shop-Cain Builders entry is sixth followed by Dan “The Man” Breuer of Mooresville seventh for LB Racing.

    Timmy Blackwell rolls off eighth for Blackwell Landscaping after a good outing in the opening event. Ricky Boahn of Puppy Creek in his Star Leasing-Menscer Motorsports entry is ninth and rounding out the top ten in the points is Mooresville’s speed demon G R Smith. Who’ll win the second round of the NAPA Super Late Model Crazy 8’s action ?

       The HGR Late Model ranks after two show has defending champion Willie Milliken of Leland atop the leader board over Raeford’s Shaun Harrell, with a lot of strong contenders looking a way toward those two spots including Denton Little, TJ Tyndall, Wayne Gray Jr, Jimmy Edwards Jr, and Ron Pope.

       The Mid South Auto Recycling Open Wheel Mod Action has seen 17 year old Travis Yow  if Fayetteville  collect one win along with Andy Floyd if Vass look for Jeffrey Tyndall, Carlos Jaramillo, David Hart, Hank Edwards, Mack Cox, Jordon Taylor , Eric Menscer and Crystal Carter to return this week hungry for a victory.

      Glenn “Fireball” Howard of Wade is off and red hot again in the Moffitt Machine Shop Super Street ranks with a pair of wins to led the pack entering April battles with Thomas Stewart Joel Wilson, Chris McDonald Ricky Bledsoe and Adam Norris and Richard Martinez all looking to end his winning ways this Saturday among other drivers looking the checkers plus Greg Bass Jr. and Joe Foster just to add to the list of drivers looking that first win of the year..

     The Auto Plus U Cars has A J Huffman up front but Blake Pierce. Mike Parker Jr. Eddie Longhany Jr the defending champ and David Nelson Greg Young and Jimmy McDuffie are ready for a victory in April.

      The Young Guns class has seen Austin Beasley take a win along with Dylan Hammond but watch out those Wilson boys and Zack Blackwell along with Ricky Carter Jr, are hunting down the leader weekly after a win on the clay oval.

EarthLink Revolves Around You.


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013