Racing News


Milliken and Yow Tops Fayetteville Speedway Season Opener

By Larry Long


       Fayetteville, NC March 17, 2008- The 38th season of Stock Car Racing at Fayetteville Motor Speedway got underway with a Sunday afternoon show after the rains washed out Saturday evening program.

       The 20 Lap HGR Truck & Trailers Late Model action saw a battle on this opening day as Veteran Jimmy Edwards Jr. of Hope Mills started on the pole with Denton Little of Fayetteville in his Monty’s Heating &AC mount on the outside of the front row and defending  champion Willie Milliken of Leland started third in the 17 car field.  Edwards roared to the front of the field on the green with Milliken taking the runner up spot early and chased Edwards most of the event and finally with a few laps remaining made his move around Edwards to roll up his second win of the year in as many starts in his GRT machine powered by those Naylor Race Engines. Edwards settled for a runner up finish at the finish line for Logan’s Roadhouse-CSI Insulation-Garry’s Paint and Body Shop, Chambers Race Engines then he come up light on the scales giving Shawn Sewell of Benson in his Sewell Logging-Rhodes Roofing ride a runner up finish. Milliken has renewed many of his sponsors for this season as TWA Concrete-Lease Wholesale-Corky’s Auto Sales are sponsoring his effort along with others this season. 2006 champion D J Tyndall of Dunn ran third for D&K Muffler and Day-Lee Chevy and had a tough opener at FMS. Veteran South Carolina driver Johnny Pridgen took the Bullock’s NAPA machine pit of Lake View to a fourth place finish and Fayetteville’s veteran Wayne Gray Jr. took fifth spot in his WG Landscaping-Dunn Benson Racing Supply mount.

      This event was the first point race for all divisions on the show and we’ll see who get their share of over $25,000 in prize money this season at FMS.

      The Mid South Auto Recycling Open Wheel Mod show saw 17 year old Travis Yow of Fayetteville show the way most of the day in the 20 lap show as his Bob Pierce Chassis out ran four other Pierce Chassis Yow has set his goal and that’s to win the title this year for High Tech Transmission-Moffitt Machine Shop- Johnny Campbell Master Muffler, Roberts Used Cars & Vans, Battenbilt Engines. Yow held off a hard charging Jeffrey Tyndall of Autryville in his Allen Kelly Heating & AC mount for RCR and settled for a second place finish on this evening. Fayetteville’s Eric Menscer had a good outing in his Star Leasing-Menscer Motorsports Pierce Chassis as he took third place after starting on the front row in the pole sitter spot with Yow outside of the front row in the starting lineup of 19 cars. Crystal Carter of Fayetteville took home a fourth place finish for C 1 Mobile Homes Movers in her Pierce Machine Raeford Speedster Mike Beasley rolled up a fifth place finish for Hallmark Realty-Bedrock Mini Storage

       The 15 lap feature for the Moffitt Machine Ship Super Street cars saw defending champion Glenn “Fireball” Howard of Wade roared to the wave of the checkers from his 14th starting spot after seeing pole sitter Joel Wilson of Fayetteville led most of the show. Fayetteville’s Hard Charger Larry Willis took second place in his Chevy ride followed by Brandon Carter third for Carter Motorsports, Upstart. Ricky Bledsoe put his Chevy in the fourth spot followed by Fayetteville’s Richard Martinez in his High Tech Transmission-Reeves Electric machine fifth. Buddy Isles Jr. of Littleton ran up front the opening five laps only to see his motor go sour and he went behind the wall for the evening. John O’Donnell along with Greg Bass Jr., Joe Foster and Jeremy Johnson looked strong early on only to fade along the way on this evening.

       The Auto Plus U-Cars action saw defending Champion Eddie Longhany Jr. of Wade made a pass coming off turn four on the white flag lap to grab the checkered flag over A J Huffman who ran up front most of the event. Huffman finished second with Blake Pierce third for the battle. Rob Saddler took fourth with Justin Patterson fifth at the finish line. Look for David “Cowboy” Nelson, Greg Young, Matt Mansfield, Abe Woodard and Mike Parker Jr, Jason Edwards along with Jimmy McDuffie. to turn up their programs this week in this class.

       The Young Guns showdown saw Raeford’s 13 year old driver Austin Beasley took the win with a move down low on the white flag lap and this was his first start for Carolina Customs of Raeford. Fayetteville’s Ricky Carter Jr. ran second in the exciting photo finish. Daulton Wilson of Fayetteville placed third with Zack Blackwell of Fayetteville fourth and Ethan Wilson of Fayetteville rounded out the top five finishers for the Wilson Racing two car team. Ken and MPH Production will Award the U-Cars Hard Charger of The Race a $25 check for his effort every Saturday night..

       This Saturday night March 22 the action moves under the lights for the return of the NAPA Auto Parts Crazy 8’s Super Late Model show that will pay the winner a cool $2,500 for the victory and look for a lot of the top drivers to come calling for this money. Shawn Beasley of Raeford will be the Defending Super Late Model Crazy 8 champion in his Mastersbilt ride for Beasley’s Body Shop-Cain Builders-TRO stores. All scheduled classes will be racing this Saturday night. Grandstands gates open at 5 pm and the Pits open at 3 pm. See the action on the 4/10 clay oval as They Do It In The Dirt again at FMS and it will be a Dirt Kickin showdown for all classes.

       The 2008 Race Car Show winners this year was Denton Little in the HGR Truck & Trailers Late Model class, David Hart took top Honors in the Mid South Auto Recycling Open Wheel Mod division. Richard Martinez grabbed the top prize in the Moffitt Machine Shop Super Street class. A J Huffman took home the Trophy for the Best Appearing Auto Plus U-Car. Zack Blackwell took the prize in the Young Guns division. The NAPA Auto Parts Super Late Model trophy will be awarded this Saturday evening in the NAPA Super Late Model Crazy 8 Night of racing.


Larry Long, FMS Press

Cynthia-Diana Long
EarthLink Revolves Around You.


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013