Racing News


STANLEY, N.C. (Saturday, April 19)–Jeff Mundwiler (Statesville) made it two for two as he scored his second consecutive win of the 2008 season in the Late Model Modified-Sportsman event at East Lincoln Speedway, Saturday night. He started the 20-lap race from the pole, jumped out front when the green flag waved and led the entire distance to finish four car lengths in front of Keith Bowman (McAdenville).

"This is absolutely amazing," said Mundwiler. "I always wanted to win here but beginning the season with back-to-back wins is more than I ever dreamed about."

Ronnie White (Charlotte) finished third, Brian Robinson (Gastonia) fourth and Michael Benfield (Denver) fifth

Matt Emmerling (Lincolnton) drove a flawless race to win the 20-lapper for Open Wheel Modifieds. Starting from the outside front row position, Emmerling throttled into the lead in the opening lap and outdistanced defending division track champion Jamie Kuntz (Statesville) by a car length. Pole starter Greg Brown (Concord) wound up third with Jason Rice (Lincolnton) and Steve Hines (Mooresville) following.

"I ran real high all night and by doing so I could really get going while coming off the banking," said Emmerling. "I really got up a head of steam down the straightaways."

Ben Murphy (Troutman) found the 3/8-mile clay oval to his liking as he scored his second win in two Micro-Sprint outings. Steve Cooke (Mt. Airy), Jonathan Hager (Mooresville), Brian Roseman (Conover) and Ron Sheets (Lexington) completed the top five positions.

Joshua Cook (Denver) outdueled Brett Mundweiler (Statesville) to win the Rookie Four contest. Michael Williams (Alexis) finished third, Josh Craig (Charlotte) fourth and Justin Moody Stanley) fifth.

Jennifer Mendenhall (Jonesville) defeated Brian Toler (Stanley), Shanan Major (Alexis), Caleb Rhyne (Stanley) and Brett Myers (Statesville) to win the Stars of Tomorrow main event for drivers 12-16 years of age.

Rain and the possibility of severe weather conditions resulted in the remainder of the evening’s program being cancelled at 9:30 p.m.. Drivers in two divisions were awarded wins and paid accordingly based on the way they were scheduled to lineup for feature races. In the Stock Four division the declared winner was Jamie Major (Alexis). Mickey Anderson (Statesville) was awarded the Grand American Stock car win.

A program of 200 laps for seven divisions of competition will return to East Lincoln Speedway this coming Saturday night (April 26)  beginning at 7 p.m. The program will include the first children’s bicycle races of the young season.

# # #

Contact (704) 483-2099


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013