Racing News



Newton, NC..Andy Loden took his first win of the 2008 NASCAR Whelen
All-American Racing Season in an unusual Sunday afternoon event at Hickory
Motor Speedway.  After widespread rain blanketed the region all day
Saturday, HMS Track Management invited drivers and fans to come out for a
rare Sunday race.

Loden, defending 2006 & 2007 HMS Track Champion, set the pace for the day
with a 15.258 second qualifying lap to take the Winncom Pole Award.

After a 50-lap dash that saw great battling between #29 Loden, #31 Kyle
Grissom, and #16 Mack Little III for the top three spots and saw the fans on
their feet for the battles between the #35 of Chris Lewis, #43 Jesse
LeFevers, and #00 Lucas Ransone, Loden managed to take his first win of the
season.  Little was pleased with a strong second place finish, and Grissom
scored third.  Last week's winner #21 Brian Curry came home fourth, followed
by #35 Chris Lewis in fifth.

The finish put Loden atop the LMS points over Curry in Second, Little third,
Lewis fourth, and #25 Sam Watts fifth.

The Jewelry Exchange Limited Late Models started the evening's events with
#17 Kyle Mansch on the Pole, but #01 J. R. Allen took home the trophy.  #29
Bobby Measmer Jr. finished second, followed by #07 Tyler Church third,
Mansch fourth, and #55 Waylon Flynn fifth.

#3 Dexter Canipe Jr. leads Limited points, followed by Flynn second, Church
third, Allen fourth, and Mansch fifth.

The Advance Auto Parts Super Trucks had their first race of the year, with
#69 Trevor Hignutt taking the Pole Award and #97 Keith Bumgarner taking the
win.  Hignutt came home second, followed by #94 Ben Ebeling third, #6 Dexter
Canipe Jr. fourth, and #45 Kenneth Pardue fifth.

In Street Stocks, #03 Kevin Eby led the field from the Pole to the Checkers.
#7 Jeff Sparks made a late race charge but was unable to make the pass,
finishing second.  #71 Robert Divanna was third, followed by #3 Bruce
Kirkendall fourth, and #89 Jenn Crossman fifth.

Eby & Sparks are tied for first place in Street Stocks points standings,
with Kirkendall and DiVanna tied for third, and #64 Marshall Sutton in fifth

Red Baron Race Parts Hobby Stocks took to the track with some new faces in
visiting raceteams.  #15 Chad Johnson took the win ahead of #3 Wayne
Harrington.  #90 Ronnie Sims finished third, followed by #83 David Hasson,
and #4 Brandon Ballard.

Sims leads in Hobby Stocks points, followed by Hasson in second, #01 Paul
Wyatt third, Johnson fourth, and #5 Stephen Clippard and Harrington tied for


Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013