Racing News


Loftin Wins Nascar Whelen Southern Modified Tour;
Allred Continues To Dominate Victory Lane In The Late Model Super Trucks At Caraway Speedway


April 12, 2008 – Asheboro, NC --  Lexington’s Brian Loftin held off Hampstead, New Hampshire’s Andy Seuss capturing the 150 Lap NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour.  Frank Fleming of Mt. Airy, George Brunnhoelzl III of Concord, Burt Myers of Walnut Cove, Ronnie Silk of Norwalk, CT, LW Miller of Mooresville, Brian King of Gibsonville, Jay Mize of Clemmons and Bobby Hutchens of Winston Salem rounded out the top ten finishers.     The Nascar Whelen Southern Modified Tour will return to the .455 mile asphalt oval next Saturday Night (April 19th). 

     In the 50 Lap Late Model Super Truck event Randleman’s Buddy Allred captured his second consecutive win of the season and continues to lead the track points.  Cole Miktuk of Rock Hill, SC, Jody Measamer of Sanford, Destry Gardner of Asheboro, Jeff Garrison of Clemmons, Clint Fields of Carthage, Nathan Bess of Lexington, Gary Ledbetter of Lexington, Gene Kepley of Lexington and Jimmy Rice of Gibsonville rounded out the top ten finishers.

     In the 100 lap NASCAR Late Model Stock event Rockingham’s Randy Benson took home the win.  Benson piston & Rod was protested by second place finishers Travis Swaim of High Point and was found to be legal.  Rookie Ryan Wilson of Randleman posted his best finish of the season by bringing home third.  Pete Stewart of Sophia and Ben Peterson of Soldiers Grove, WIS rounded out the top five finishers.
     In the 30 Lap Sportsman event Ron Burchette of Walkertown captured his second consecutive win.  Rich Hunter of Advance, Daniel Schadt of Asheboro, Ricky Frazier of Randleman and Dan Discepoli of Greensboro rounded out the top five finishers.

     In the 15 lap Mini Stock event newcomer Chuck Wall of Clemmons captured the win.  Paul Wark of Winston Salem, Michael Tucker of Thomasville, Pnut Vernon of Walkertown and Bobby Smith Jr of Lexington rounded out the top five finishers.

     In the 15 Lap Custom Steel Fabricators Super Mini Truck event Asheboro’s Scottie York took home the win.  Ron Thayer of Seagrove, Jerry Chriscoe of Randleman, Jerry Toomes of Asheboro and Eric Hockett of Lexington rounded out the top five finishers.

     In the 12 Lap Cab Car event Asheboro’s Zack Bralley took home his first win of the season.  Gary Dillard of Lexington, Bobby Mitchem of Trinity, Mike Grubb of Trinity and Ray Forrest of King rounded out the field.

     In the 10 Lap U-Car event Asheboro’s Jimmy Cooper took home the win.  James Jones of Trinity, Ray Forrest of King, Herbert Delosh of Lexington and Justin Smith of Sophia rounded out the top five finishers.

      Coming up next Saturday the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will take to the asphalt for 150 laps of action.  Also on hand will be a 75 Lap NASCAR Late Model Stock , 50 Lap Late Model Super Truck, Limited Late Model, Mini Stock, Street Stock and U-Cars.  Grandstands open at 6pm and the racing gets underway at 8pm.  Directions:  Take US 220 Bypass to the Spero Road Exit and Follow the signs.  For additional information hit the web at


Media/PR Contact:  Renee Hackett – 336-629-5803


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013