Racing News


STANLEY, N.C. (Saturday, April 12)–Jeff Mundwiler (Statesville) snared his first career Late Model-Modified Sportsman victory by taking the 20-lapper at East Lincoln Speedway tonight.

Jim Henneborn (Catawba), who started from outside the front row, finished second. Steve Capps (Mocksville) wound up third. Bryan Robinson (Dallas) came in fourth and Michael Benfield (Denver) wound up fifth.

"I’ve been coming here since I was a teenager," said Mundwiler afterwards. "I’ve competed in a lot of races here but to win the season opener in a new car is a great way to start the year."

Defending division champion Jamie Kuntz (Mooresville) started the Open Wheel Modified feature race ninth but on lap seven wrestled the lead from Jim Hinneborn and went on to capture the 20-lap affair. Davis Capps (Mocksville) finished second with Ronnie White (Charlotte), Greg Brown (Concord) and Blane Huffman (Denver) trailing.

"Our goal is to win back-to-back track championships," said Kuntz. "This is a great way to start the season toward that goal."

Ben Murphy (Allentown, Pa.) emerged victorious in the 25-lap Micro-Sprint main event. Steve Cooke (Mt. Airy), Justin Lineman (Spencer), Jason Troutman (Charlotte) and Chris Thompson (Huntersville) rounded out the top five.

Swain Morris (Mt. Holly) outdueled Mark Woody (Dallas) in Stock Four competition. Jamie Major grabbed third place. Tony Paladino (Kannapolis) was fourth with Brian Goforth (Scotts) fifth.

Justin Moody (Stanley) and Josh Cook (Denver) waged a furious duel in the closing laps of the Rookie Four main but it was Moody out front when they received the checkered flag. Third place went to Jack Anderson (Denver) with Josh Craig (Charlotte) and Cooter Tucker (Concord) completing the top five positions.

Brett Myers (Statesville) defended his 2007 Stars of Tomorrow division title by rolling to a win over Shannon Major (Alexis), Jennifer Mendenhall (Jonesville), Tyler Hyatt (Denver) and Brian Toler (Stanley) in a race for 12-16-year olds.

Mickey Anderson battled from the rear to win the Grand American Stock Car 10-lapper. Other top five finishers included Tracy Tapley (Kannapolis), Jennifer Collins (Denver), Cheri Stowe (Belmont) and Robert Delia, Sr. (Sherrill’s Ford).

Auto racing will return to the 3/8-mile clay East Lincoln Speedway next Saturday night with a program of 200-laps for seven divisions beginning at 7 p.m.

A Scratch for Cash is in store for the children. Coins and currency will be placed in a pile of sawdust with three age brackets of children being allowed to scratch for and keep the loot they find.

# # #

Contact: (704) 483-2099


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013