Racing News


Weeks Grabs Second NAPA Crazy 8 Series Victory, The Clash Opener Rolls April 12 at FMS

By Larry Long, FMS Press


     Fayetteville, NC April 7, 2008- Fayetteville Motor Speedway rolled it’s second NAPA Crazy 8 Series showdown on Sunday afternoon April 6 under cloudy skies. The 25 lap Crazy 8 Super Late Model show paid the winner $2,500.

      Ricky Weeks of Rutherfordton entered the events atop the leader board over Jeff Smith of Dallas. Former FMS track champ Chris Blackwell of Grays Creek was third in the chase with 2002 Clash champion Scott Autry of Fayetteville fourth and 2001 Clash champ Ed Gibbons of Manning, SC was fifth in the Crazy 8 points battle.

      G. R. Smith of Mooresville won the pole sitter spot with a lap of 17.577 in his Rocket mount and Weeks, the 4 time Clash champion started outside the front row in his 25th Anniversary Rocket ride for Parton Lumber-Starrette Trucking. Smith got the jump on the field with Weeks in tow in the opening laps and traffic was soon coming into play for the frontrunners. Lap 10 saw Smith get behind some back marker cars off turn two and Weeks shot to the high side of the 4/10 clay oval to take the point for the event. Weeks then opened the edge on Smith, Ed Gibbons and Jeff Smith and the rest of the field. Chris Blackwell pulled to third with a handful of laps left and battled Jeff Smith for a third place finish with Smith grabbing the spot leaving Blackwell with a fourth place night..  Weeks sailed to the wave of the checkers over Gibbons in the final countdown for his second win of the young season at FMS. G R Smith would settle for a fifth place finish and get ready for this weeks 2008 Carolina Clash Series opener at Fayetteville Speedway with $4,000 up for the winner and the early season points lead in the 9th year of action for the Clash Series Sixth through tenth for the show was Timmy Blackwell of Grays Creek. Scott Autry of Fayetteville in his L&M Convenience Marts-S&D Florist entry was seventh., David Taylor of Fayetteville ran eighth for BTO-AMP Drinks-VP Fuels followed by NAPA Crazy 8 Defending Champ Shawn Beasley of Raeford in his Cain Builders-TRO-Beasley’s Body Shop machine was ninth and Ricky Boahn of Puppy Creek rounded out the top ten finishers for Star Leasing-Menscer Motorsports for the evening..

      Who’ll win this Saturday night Carolina Clash Dogwood Special NAPA Super Late Model show? Will Weeks winning streak continue ?? The $20,000 Bonus is on the minds of several drivers for sure entering this event.

     The HGR Late Model feature saw defending Champ Willie Milliken of Leland have woes hit his ride after the opening lap and he went to the pits for repairs and entered the show 5 laps off the pace. 2006 Champion D J Tyndall of Dunn after a couple of tough weeks at FMS took the lead in the show and never looked back as he held off previous weeks winner Shaun Harrell of Raeford in his Carolina Concrete Finishing entry at the finish line for his first win of the year for D & K Muffler-Day Lee Chevy.. Princeton speedster Dustin Mitchell placed third for Donnie’s Body Shop followed by Fayetteville veteran W G Gray Jr. for WG Landscaping-Dunn-Benson Racing Supply fourth in the final tally.

      Hope Mills veteran Jimmy Edwards Jr. ran fifth for Garry’s Pain & Body-Logan’s Roadhouse The points will get a shake up after this show for sure.

     The Mid South Auto Recycling Open Wheel Modified feature saw Raeford speed merchant Mike Beasley collect his first victory of the year in his Hallmark Reality-Carolina Customs of Raeford machine as Beasley out ran Hank Edwards of Hope Mills in his Mitchell Williams Motorsports entry out of Ash, NC. Previous week winner Handy Andy Floyd of Vass placed third with fourth place going to 17 year old Travis Yow of Fayetteville in his High Tech Transmission-Roberts Used cars Pierce machine. Lady driver Crystal Carter of Grays Creek finished fifth for RCR and C 1 Mobile Home Movers.

     The Moffitt Machine Shop Super Street showdown saw two time winner Glenn Howard of Wade get out front and Howard then spun out leading the show and Godwin’s upstart 20 year driver Thomas Stewart took the point and would not let up in search of his first career win in his Miller’s Paint-Auto Plus-Brewington Builders hot rod and Stewart took the win over a hard charging Joel Wilson of Fayetteville at the finish line. Howard placed third followed by Ft. Bragg newcomer Fred Gibson fourth and Brandon Carter ran fifth for Carter Racing in the rundown.

     The Auto Plus U Cars battle saw A J Huffman continues his great start this season as he topped the field again for top honors over David ”Cowboy” Nelson of Godwin.. Mike Parker Jr of Fayetteville placed third for Parker Service Center, Jason Edwards of Hope Mills was fourth with Richard Young rounding out the top five finishers for the night of action.

     The Young Guns young men put on a show for the fans as Ethan Wilson out ran his brother Daulton Wilson in the final rundown for the event. Jordan Tyndall finished third with Ricky Carter Jr. fourth and Zach Blackwell fifth for Blackwell Landscaping.

      This Saturday night April 12, don’t miss the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series 2008 Season Opener plus all schedule divisions on the program. Gates to the pits open at 3 pm and the Grandstands open at 5 pm. Come see the Top Stars and Cars of the Carolina Clash Touring Series at Fayetteville Motor Speedway, don’t miss this show, it will be one of the best this season at FMS. Thanks race fans for your support every week at FMS.

EarthLink Revolves Around You.


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013