Racing News

Harris......................................Gray Takes O’Reilly USCS Sprint Victory
Gray Takes O’Reilly USCS Sprint Victory
Bubba Smith Victorious In Stock Eight Race
By Tony M. Suttles

Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee claimed the official victory in the O’Reilly United Sprint Car Series Sprint Car race ran at the Harris Motor Speedway on Friday night April 25, 2008. Gray passed Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina on the final lap and took the victory by less than two feet. Bridges was the fastest qualifier for the race with a track record time of 13.27 seconds. Bridges grabbed the lead as soon as the green flag dropped and held the lead until the final lap when he was out ran to the finish line. T.J. Winegardner finished third. Josh Weller finished fourth. Cody Adams finished fifth. For further info you can visit the USCS official website at

Bubba Smith claimed the official victory in the Stock Eight race. Smith led every lap of the race on his way to the victory. Ricky Teems pressed Smith the first three laps of the race before he got pushed up the track by a couple of cars following him. This allowed Timmy Smith to move to the second position. Timmy Smith immediately began to close on Bubba Smith but the laps ran out before Timmy Smith was able to make a challenge. Bubba Smith had a half a car advantage over Timmy Smith at the finish line. Timmy Smith finished second. Kenneth Bowers finished third. Roger Gilliam finished fourth. Scott Smith finished fifth.

Danny Sexton claimed the official victory in the Street Stock Four race. Danny Sexton led every lap of the race on his way to the victory. Kyle Westmoreland and Blake Bentley pressed Sexton the first couple of laps before the two touched and Westmoreland spun. Shannon Gonce moved to the second position following this mishap and held the position the remainder of the race but failed to maintain the pace set by Sexton. Shannon Gonce finished second. Matthew McDonald finished third. Blake Bentley finished fourth. Tony Adair finished fifth.

Mack Morris claimed the official victory in the Young Guns race. Morris thoroughly dominated the race and took the victory by half a lap over his closest competitor. Justin Barber held the second position the majority of the race but had his hands full the entire time. Ethan Gregory pressed Barber throughout the race and finally bypassed him on the final lap. Ethan Gregory finished second. Justin Barber finished third. Matt Spencer finished fourth. Wendy Smith finished fifth.

James Abernathy claimed the official victory in the Renegade race. Abernathy and Nikita Treadwell battled back and forth the first ten laps of the race before Treadwell spun in turn four at the end of the tenth lap. Jonathan nix assumed the second position and ran close to Abernathy the final two laps but failed to make a bid for the top spot. Jonathan Nix finished second. Jason Jolley finished third. John McElrath finished fourth. Jason Edmonds finished fifth.

Steve Penson Jr claimed the official victory in the Pure Stock race. Travis Burdette led every lap of the race and had over a half a straight away advantage when he received the checkered flag. Throughout the race the main battle was for the second position between Mitchell Coggins and Steve Penson. Penson finally got past Mitchell on the final lap in order to cross the finish line in the second position which proved to be the winner’s position in the end. Following the race a protest was lodged against Burdette’s car and the car failed the inspection and the victory was awarded to Penson. Mitchell Coggins finished second. Brandon Staton finished third. Bopper Johnson finished fourth. Jonathan Surratt finished fifth.



Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013