Racing News


World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Returns to The Dirt Track
Friday Night, May 23, for the Rite Aid Outlaw Showdown

CONCORD, N.C. (April 23, 2008) - The world's best sprint car drivers
will be in the spotlight on Friday night of Coca-Cola 600 Week as the
nomadic Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series returns
 to The
Dirt Track @ Lowe's Motor Speedway for the May 23 Rite Aid Outlaw
Among those expected to challenge for the $10,000 first-place prize
are 20-time series champion Steve Kinser, two-time series titlist Donny
Schatz and 2001 champ Danny Lasoski. In fact, the World of Outlaws
roster currently features the most impressive line-up of regulars since
series began barnstorming the nation's dirt tracks in 1978.
"The winged sprint cars always put on a tremendous show and this
event is the perfect way for NASCAR fans to round out their Coca-Cola

experience," said H.A. "Humpy" Wheeler, president and general manager
Lowe's Motor Speedway.
Jason Meyers, of Clovis, Calif., has been the early season surprise,
winning three of the first six World of Outlaws races. Meyers, 29,
fifth in last year's series standings after a strong late-season charge
included a victory in the World Finals at The Dirt Track.
Two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Tony Stewart is expected to be
in the pit area on Friday night, May 23, but the versatile driver won't
behind the wheel. Instead, he'll be overseeing the winged sprint cars
fields for Schatz and Kraig Kinser.
Joey Saldana, driving the No. 9 car owned by NASCAR Sprint Cup
Series driver Kasey Kahne, is also expected to be on hand along with
of Outlaws regulars such as Craig Dollansky, Kerry Madsen, Terry
 McCarl, Tim
Shaffer, Chad Kemenah, Jac Haudenschild, Daryn Pittman and Lucas Wolfe.
The late model stock cars of the Goodyear FASTRAK Challenge will
join the sprint cars during the action-packed program when racing
 starts at
7:30 p.m.
Reserved seats for the Rite Aid Outlaw Showdown on Friday night, May
23, are just $25 for adults and $10 for children ages 12 and under.
 They can
be purchased by calling the speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS or
online at

Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013