Racing News

County Line Raceway kicks off the 2008 season
County Line Raceway kicks off the 2008 season with great racing action. The evenings big winner was Dustin Mitchell, besting a stellar field of Late Model competition. Justin Pinno and Joshua Bryant were also victorios in their respective divisions, Modified Four Cylinder and Cadet. Other winners of the evening were Victor May in Super Stock Four Cylinder, Britches Liles in Thunder & Lightning, Gary Whitley in Pure Stock V-8, and Junior Johnson in Pure Stock V-8.

The evening started off with the return of the Modiifed Four Cylinders on the 3/8ths mile clay oval. Wilson’s Justin Pinno capped the win with a dominating performance, after setting fast time of 17.46 through qualifying. Fayetteville’s Paul Green managed second place in his CLR debut. Jamie Summerlin and William Carrol rounded out the field after both suffered mechanical problems in practice, causing both lots of work to make the feature. The Modified Four Cylinder makes its return to CLR on June 7th. There should be a full field of competitors by this date, this was the first date of the season for this series.

The Late Model division started of the season with an outstanding field of competitors. Louisburg’s ‘Wild Child’ Damon Kotke set the pace with a qualifying lap of 15.77 to take the pole position over Pine Level’s ‘Kid Rocket” Dustin Mitchell with a time of 15.80 seconds. Mitchell got the jump at the drop of the green flag and held off challenges by Kotke and Holly Spring’s Neal Sykes to take the victory, his first in the Late Model division at CLR. Sykes, making his long waited return to CLR after about a 7 year absence, came from the sixth starting position to battle for the lead. Sykes had to settle for second after Mitchell proved to be strong. Earl Arnold made his way through the field to take over the third position, in the popular yellow #1 machine. Kotke made his way back to fourth after a lap 4 spin that relegated him to the rear of the field. Scooter King managed a fifth place finish after advancing eight spots from the start of the race. Rounding out the top ten were Ronnie Boykin, J.P. Cascell, Bobby Bottoms, Chris Klein, and Eric Hobgood. 2007 points champion, Spencer Liggon, finished in the eleventh position after suffering mechanical issues.

The next feature event of the evening saw Rocky Mount’s Joshua Bryant take his first victory in stock car action, in the Cadet division. This is a class for 11 thru 15 year old competition. Bryant set fast time for the Cadets with a lap of 23.00 seconds. 2007’s big winner, Austin Holcombe, had to settle for second. Elm City’s Holcombe made a pass with three to go to secure the second spot. Stillman Heath, the 2007 points champion had to settle for third. Cody Keith took home fourth after suffering mechanical problems.

The remaining events of the evening were Dash Races, which were a new twist on the competition. The top six qualifiers for the divisions were locked into the races. They had to redraw for the starting order for the racing action. The finish for the dashes sets the top six starting spots for next weeks action.

The Super Stock Four Cylinder division saw Victor May pick up where he left off in 2007, dominating the
competition. May set fast time with a lap of 18.77 seconds and then led flag to flag in the 10 lap dash. Bill Winstead followed May to a second place finish. The hard charging machines of Wayne Potter and Andy Ross ended up third and fourth, respectively. Json Horne and Josh Widenner rounded out the field.

The Thunder & Lightning division was dominated by Britches Liles in his sleek new ride. Liles set fast time of 17.77 seconds and then led the field for a flag to flag victory. Mark McDaniels ran a strong second, holding off Skeeter Liles. 2007 points champion, Alan Worrells, placed fourth. Rounding out the field were Joey Cascell, Chris Ray, and Tim Coley.

Pure Stock V-8 were the next group to hit the track. They put on a great show. Gary Whitley wasted little time in making his way to the front of the pack in this highly contested battle. Whiley took the lead on the third circuit and held off constant challenges by Jerry Williams. Michael Lamm, the 2007 season points champion settled for third with James Meredith taking fourth. Fast qualifier Ben James wound up fifth after posting a lap of 21.06 seconds. Ray Beaman rounded out the field after suffering handling issues.

The Pure Stock Four Cylinder may have seen the tightest battle of the evening between Junior Johnson and Gary Dillon. Johnson held off challenges in each turn from Dillon to take the victory. They will be the starting row for next weeks feature. Jimmy Holcombe made his return to four cylinder action at CLR , taking home third place. Fourth place finisher, Ricky Webb, was also back in the drivers seat after a few years absence. Rounding out the field were Carlton Toney and Taylor Dalton.

The May 3rd event is shaping up to be a great night of racing action. Trophies will be presented to the Best
Apearing Cars from this past weekends show. There will be racing in six divisions starting with the very popular Late Model superstars. Super Stock Four Cylinder, Thunder & Lightning, Pure Stock Four Cylinder, Pure Stock V-8, and Cadets will also be on hand. Gates open at 5, with the drivers meeting taking place at 7. Come on out and bring a friend.



Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013