Racing News

Ritch outruns Bayne, rain in Concord win
Concord, N.C.—When rain halted the Racing Electronics 250 presented
 by BTS 
Tire & Wheel Distributors at Concord Motorsports Park, Michael Ritch
 was in 
the right place. But it may not have mattered.
Ritch marched through the pack after making an early stop and was out
when the rains put an end to the event on Lap 206.
“I was pretty upset with our strategy when we came in on Lap 60,”
Ritch, driver of the No. 28s Racing For Veterans Ford. “But in the
 end, I 
think it was the right move. I think I could’ve held them off even if
went the distance.”
Ritch’s win was his second in a row and puts him in the Greased
Southern Division point lead.
While Ritch and most of the other leaders pitting in the first 75 laps,
Day kept his No. 96s Lopez Wealth Management Ford out front for the
of the first half of the event.
Day, who started from the Awesome Awnings Pole, led all but seven of
first 150 circuits. But Day’s gamble that the rain would come earlier
pay off before he pitted on Lap 151.
“We probably would’ve pitted 40 laps earlier had the rain not been
around us,” said Day, who made it back to sixth at the finish. “I
 could see 
the lightning while I was going down the backstretch and it was all
us, but it didn’t rain when I needed it.”
Trevor Bayne, driver of the No. 29s Chevy Racing Chevrolet, was on the
pit strategy as Michael Ritch and made it back to second at the finish.
Carl Long, driver of the No. 12s Romeo Guest Construction Ford, gambled
the rain would hit before the conclusion of the event and picked up a 
third-place finish by not coming in for fuel.
Clay Rogers, driver of the No. 51s Fire Protection
Environmental Chevrolet, rounded out the top five in his first start of
season. Rogers also led seven laps in his first Pro Cup race in nearly
Frank Deiny, Kirk Leone, Billy Bigley and J.P. Morgan completed the top
Drew Herring picked up the Miller Lite Rookie of the Race for his
Unofficial Results
1.      Michael Ritch
2.      Trevor Bayne
3.      Carl Long
4.      Mark McFarland
5.      Clay Rogers
6.      Wade Day
7.      Frank Deiny Jr.
8.      Kirk Leone
9.      Billy Bigley
10.     J.P. Morgan
11.     Drew Herring
12.     Matt Lofton
13.     Dusty Williams
14.     Joey Coulter
15.     Tom Hessert
16.     Bobby Gill
17.     Woody Howard
18.     Don Satterfield
19.     Hunter Robbins
20.     James Buescher
21.     Larry Barrett
22.     Bryan Silas
23.     John Gibson
24.     Lucas Ransome
25.     Mark Whitaker
26.     Caleb Holman
27.     Travis Kittleson
28.     Matt Hawkins
29.     Travis Miller
30.     Mike Held
Paul Warner
USAR Media Relations Director
(843) 390-4224



Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013