Craig Gabriele



Historical Night @ Waterford Speedbowl

A third generation driver added his name to the record books @ the Waterford Speedbowl Saturday night.

The 6 of Joey Gada the 20 year old from Salem, CT won his first SK Modified feature of his career joining his father Dennis a 7-Time SK Modified Champion and his grandfather Bob Gada with victories at the Speedbowl in the SK Modified- Modified division.

Joey took off early when he passed the 22 of Tyler Jackson for the lead and never looked back.

13 Ted Christopher of Plainville was a distant second and 78 Diego Monahan of Quaker Hill third.

The Gada family has 11 track championships overall at Waterford and over 120 victories. Dennis Gada has seven SK Modified titles and 62 career SK Modified victories. Bob Gada has two Late Model victories and 1 Modified win. Dennis’ brother Dave also has two SK Modified titles and 12 SK Modified wins. Brother Mike Gada has 7 SK Modified wins.

I wanted it just about as bad as anybody else,” Joey Gada said. “I don’t feel any pressure [my dad], he doesn’t put any pressure on me so, I just go out there and do my best every week. I’m proud just to win. But it is cool though. It’s definitely awesome to follow in their footsteps.”

Another great night of racing @ the Waterford Speedbowl.

Waterford Speedbowl Results – April 27, 2013

35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified: 1. 36 Joey Gada, Salem; 2. 13 Ted Christopher, Plainville; 3. 78 Diego Monahan, Quaker Hill; 4. 88 Keith Rocco, Meriden; 5. 36 Craig Lutz, Miller Place, N.Y.; 6. 27 Tyler Chadwick, Ledyard; 7. 16 Todd Ceravolo, Gales Ferry; 8. 32 Tom Abele Jr., Norwich; 9. 51 Robert Janovic Jr., Waterford; 10. 54 Nichole Morgillo, Southington.

30-lap Late Model: 1. Dillon Moltz, Waterford; 2. Jeff Smith, Old Lyme; 3. Keith Rocco, Wallingford; 4. Allen Coates, Ledyard; 5. Mike Sweeney Jr., Meriden; 6. Rich Staskowski, Hope Valley, R.I.; 7. Jason Palmer, Berlin; 8. Chris Garside, Waterford; 9. Richard Duranti, Quaker Hill; 10. Joe Curioso, Mystic.

25-lap Street Stock: 1. Josh Galvin, Franklin; 2. Joe Arena, Bristol; 3. Chris Meyer, North Franklin; 4. Corey Hutchings, Salem; 5. Al Stone III, Durham; 6. Ryan Waterman, Danielson; 7. Phil Evans, Uncasville; 8. Norm Root Jr., Old Saybrook; 9. Monty Gibbs, Killingworth; 10. Dan Darnstaedt, Durham.

25-lap Mini Stock: 1. Ian Brew, Wood River Junction, R.I.; 2. Garret Denton, Hope Valley, R.I.; 3. Ken Cassidy Jr., Lisbon; 4. Ray Christian III, Groton; 5. Wayne Burroughs Jr., Oakdale; 6.BillLeonard, Charlestown, R.I.; 7. Chris Ivory, Oakdale; 8. Doug Curry, Groton; 9. Nick Pappacoda, North Branford; 10. Dale Sherman, Charlestown, R.I.
















Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: May 07, 2013