Craig Gabriele



Preese wins 2nd Consecutive SK Modified Feature @ Stafford Speedway


Before one of the largest crowds in history for a regular Friday night SK Modified event the 40 of Ryan Preece from Berlin, CT came from his 10th place starting spot to won his 2nd consecutive SK Modified feature event @ Stafford Motor Speedway.

It really shows what can happen if you reduce front gate ticket prices. Stafford charges $17.50 for a regular Friday night racing event, but this Friday it was bring your best friend to the races night. Two admissions for the price of one, so $17.50 got you two tickets. Boy did that work out really well there had to be over 7,000 people in the stands.

Whelen Modified Tour drivers dominated the 40 lap SK Modified main event. With the 40 of Preece , the 89 of Rowin Pennink, the 27 of Woody Pitkat and the 15 of Defending WMT Champion Doug Coby all running in the front of the field. At one point the four were running 1st thru 4th.

 The 13 of Ted Christopher from Plainville, CT never had a chance to run the main event as the motor went south on his SK and ran a back up from another SK Modified team.

Preece inherited the lead on lap 30 of the 40 lap race when race leader 15 Doug Coby of Milford, CT was dumped by the 89 of Rowan Pennink of Huntington Valley, PA who was running 2nd at the time going into turn 3. Pennink was put to the rear of the field for rough riding handing the lead over to Preece who was running 3rd at the time of the incident.

Pennink starting 3rd took the early lead until he was passed by Coby who had started 8th. Coby was chasing Pennink down lap after lap and it was only a matter of time before Coby would pass Pennink in the 40 lap main event. As soon as Coby passed Pennink for the lead Pennink decided to dump Coby. Then things started to get real ugly as Coby under caution chased Pennink down to show his displeasure and cut him off in turn 2 as both cars stopped on the track.

Preece held off all other competition for another easy victory. 88 Keith Rocco finished 2nd driving with a broken wrist. Pennink rebounded to finish 9th. Coby finished a disappointing 20th after a sure win was taking away by Pennink.

The race was marred by 10 cautions in the 40 lap race. 25 SK Modifieds started the event.

Car counts looked pretty good with 96 total race cars in the pits. 25 SK Modifieds, 21 Dare Stocks, 19 SK Lites, 19 Late Models and 12 LTD Late Models.








40-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified: 1. 40 Ryan Preece, Berlin, CT; 2. 88 Keith Rocco, Wallingford, CT; 3. 25 Sean Foster, Ellington, CT; 4. 81 Todd Owen, Somers,CT; 5. 91 Frank Ruocco, Cheshire,CT who started last in the event; 6. 10 Dan Avery, Somers,CT  7. 27 Woody Pitkat, Stafford,CT; 8. 19 Joey Cipriano III, Waterbury,CT; 9. 89 Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa.; 10. 26 Danny Cates, Chaplin,CT.







35-lap Late Model: 1. Adam Gray, Belchertown, Mass.; 2. Tom Fearn, East Longmeadow, Mass.; 3. Woody Pitkat, Stafford; 4. Cory Casagrande, Stafford; 5. Jim Peterson, Monson, Mass; 6. Andrew Durand, Chicopee, Mass; 7. Kevin Gambacorta, Ellington; 8. Jim Mavlouganes, Bethany; 9. Mark St. Hilaire, Berlin; 10. Jay Stuart, Preston.








20-lap SK Light Modified: 1. Troy Talman, Oxford, Mass.; 2. Tony Membrino Jr., Plantsville; 3. Ronnie Williams, Ellington; 4. Chase Dowling, Roxbury; 5. Jay Goff, Stafford; 6. Shayne Prucker, Stafford; 7. Bob Charland, Stafford; 8. Glenn Griswold, Vernon; 9. Tony Santangelo, Middlefield; 10. Rich Hammann, Tolland.







20-lap Limited Late Model: 1. D.J. Burnham, East Hartford; 2. David Arute, Tolland; 3. Josh Wood, Palmer, Mass.; 4. Jesse Hinze, Farmington; 5. Duane Provost, Springfield, Mass; 6. Andrew Hayes, Charlton, Mass.; 7. Joe Nogiec, Bristol; 8. Justin Bren, Monson, Mass.; 9. Albert Saunders, Stafford; 10. Austin Bessette, Stafford.







15-lap DARE Stock: 1. Jeremy Lavoie, Windsor Locks; 2. Johnny Walker, Ludlow, Mass.; 3. Kris Fluckiger, Enfield; 4. Dave Secore Jr., Union; 5. Kelsey Rottino, Willimantic; 6. James Carroll, West Hartford; 7. David Comeau, Palmer, Mass.; 8. Brandon Michael, Granville, Mass.; 9. Vince Gambacorta, Ellington; 10. Frank L’Etoile Jr., Wetherfield.
















Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: May 13, 2013