Craig Gabriele



Thompson Speedway: Rocco and Malone Split Twin 25 Lap Sunoco Modified Wins

Race Date 6/20/2013

Thompson, Conn: Double features highlighted NASCAR Whelen All American Series action in the Sunoco Modified and Lite Modified divisions Thursday night at Thompson Speedway. 88 Keith Rocco of Meriden, CT and 79 Kerry Malone of Needham, MA each garnered a win in the Sunoco Modified division while 5 Cam McDermott of Scituate, RI swept the Lite Modified portion of Thursday Night Thunder at Thompson (TNTT).


Other winners included 70 Rick Gentes of Burriville, RI in the Late Models, 73 Larry Barnett of Moosup, CT in the Limited Sportsman division, Scott Michalski of So. Killingly, CT in the Monster Mini Stocks, and 41 Ben Lavangie in the Vintage Modified feature event.


Eight feature events were on tap for the competitors at Thompson Speedway on Thursday night.

In the first Sunoco Modified feature the 88 of Rocco went to the early lead and was never really challenged for his 3rd win of the year at Thompson. 17 cars started the event.

SUNOCO MODIFIED 1ST FEATURE FINISH (TOP-10): 1. 88 Keith Rocco, Meriden, CT; 2. 00 Woody Pitkat, Stafford Springs, CT; 3. 79 Kerry Malone, Needham, MA; 4. 31 Ryan Preece, Berlin, CT; 5. 16 Todd Ceravolo, Gales Ferry, CT; 6. 77 Matt Gallo, Berlin, CT; 7. 21 Dennis Perry, Pawcatuck, CT; 8. 32 Tom Abele, Jr., Norwich, CT; 9. 36 Jay Sundeen, Douglas, MA; 10. 52 John Catania, Ludlow, MA.

In the second 25 lap event the 79 of Kerry Malone took his first feature event win of 2013. Malone inherited the lead after track officials black-flagged 00 Woody Pitkat after his involvement in an accident with 31 Ryan Preece who were running 1st and 2nd   and side by side when the incident occurred. Preece ended up in the second turn wall after contact with Pitkat. Pitkats car owner vowed not to return to the Speedway after getting parked for the rest of the night. First race winner 88 Keith Rocco was the first one out of the 2nd race as he hit the inside wall on the backstretch. Malone held off a late race challenge by Matt Gallo for the win. 15 cars started













Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: July 01, 2013