Craig Gabriele



Diego Monahan Goes Wire to Wire at the Waterford Speedbowl

Saturday 8/3 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Results:

78 Diego Monahan of Queker Hill, CT survived 13 restarts to win his 1st SK Modified feature win in 2013. It is Monahan’s first win in the division since 2007. Championship point leaders Keith Rocco, Todd Ceravolo and Tyler Chadwick each found themselves among the lead pack only to meet misfortune during the wild 35 lap event.

88 Keith Rocco the points leader of Meriden, CT came back to finish 2nd and was trying to get to the outside of Monahan on the final 3 circuits. 3rd went to 16 Todd Ceravolo of Gales Ferry, CT. 4th went to 13 Ted Christopher of Plainville, CT and 5th went to the 6 Joe Gada of Salem, CT

As with the 40 lap main @ Stafford the night before there was a lot of damaged race cars on this night. Overall it was a rough weekend for the SK Modified race teams at the two tracks.

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modifieds® (35-laps):

1.       78 Diego Monahan, Quaker Hill, CT; 2. 88 Keith Rocco, Meriden, CT; 3. 16 Todd Ceravolo, Gales Ferry, CT; 4. 13 Ted Christopher, Plainville, CT; 5. 6 Joe Gada, Salem, CT; 6. 51 Rob Janovic Jr., Waterford, CT; 7. 44 Jeffrey Gallup, Agawam, MA; 8. 36 Craig Lutz, Miller Place, NY; 9. 7 Ed Puleo, Branford, CT; 10. 21 Kyle James, Ashaway, RI; 11. 98 Frank Mucciacciaro Jr., Milford, CT; 12. 22 Tyler Jackson, Milford, CT; 13. 17 Adam Gada, Bozrah, CT; 14. Corey Coates, Ledyard; 15. 27 Tyler Chadwick, Ledyard, CT; 16. 87 Brett Gonyaw, Manchester, CT; 17. 32 Tom Abele Jr., Norwich, CT; 18. 43 John Montesanto, North Branford, CT; 19. 31 Shawn Monahan, Waterford, CT; 20. 66 Wendell Dailey, Gales Ferry, CT; 21. 54 Rich Duranti, Quaker Hill, CT.

Late Model 30 Lap Feature

1 Keith Rocco won his 6th feature event of the season in the Late Model Division taking the lead on lap 8. After taking the lead Rocco ran away with the win.

1.       Keith Rocco, Meriden; 2. Jason Palmer, Berlin; 3. Jeff Smith, Old Lyme; 4. David Farrington Jr., Jay, ME; 5. Vin Esposito, Seymour; 6. Rich Staskowski, Hope Valley, RI; 7. Ray Christian III, Groton; 8. Mike Sweeney Jr., Meriden; 9. Chris Garside, Waterford; 10. Rich Duranti, Quaker Hill; 11. Bruce Thomas Jr., Groton; 12. Dillon Moltz, Waterford; 13. Nick Ladyga, Voluntown; 14. Joe Gada, Salem

Pro Four Modifieds of New England (25-laps):

0 Keith Rocco also won the Pro 4 Modified race. Rocco took his second win of the night in the visiting Pro Four Modifieds of New England event. Their 25-lap feature saw Rocco and Doug Coby make cameo appearances and set off on their way to the front of the pack. Coby led Rocco through the pack, however on lap-7 Coby got into Andy Major for second position in turn four to create the only caution flag of the race. Coby was placed to the rear of the field while Rocco was lifted to second. Rocco pulled away from leader Rob Richardi when his machine suffered mechanical failure when he tried to restart the race. As Richardi retired, Rocco powered ahead to the win. Phil Lausier closed in late but could not challenge Rocco and finished second. Robin Berghman placed third and Coby quickly came through the field to finish fourth, however ran out of time to catch the leaders.

1.       Keith Rocco, Meriden; 2. Phil Lausier, Hudson, NH; 3. Robin Berghman, East Providence, RI; 4. Doug Coby, Milford; 5. Dan Fresh, Holliston, MA; 6. Dan Meservey Sr., West Chatham, MA; 7. Andy Major, Brookfield; 8. Derek Robbie, Bellingham, MA; 9. Mark Charette, Wolcott; 10. Tom Royer, Swanzey, NH; 11. Bill Lucchesi Jr., Danbury; 12. Rob Richardi Jr., North Easton, MA; 13. Casey Ouelette, East Granby

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Street Stocks (25-laps):

1. Josh Galvin, Franklin; 2. Joe Arena, Bristol; 3. Dwayne Dorr, Ledyard; 4. Phil Evans, Uncasville; 5. Chris Meyer, North Franklin; 6. Al Stone III, Durham; 7. Dan Darnstaedt, Westbrook; 8. Lloyd Anderson Jr., Wauregan; 9. Tim Morse, Southbury; 10. Corey Hutchings, Salem; 11. Steve Barrett, Preston; 12. Ed Gertsch Jr., East Haven; 13. Don Spence Jr., Oakdale; 14. Michael Malbaurn, Sterling; 15. Brandon Plemons, Uncasville; 16. Scott Sousa, Uncasville; DNS – Monte Gibbs, Higganum; DNS – Ryan Waterman, Danielson

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Mini Stocks (25-laps):

 1. Bill Leonard, Charlestown, RI; 2. Doug Curry, Groton; 3. Ian Brew, Wood River Junction, RI; 4. Ken Cassidy Jr., Lisbon; 5. Chris Ivory, Oakdale; 6. Dale Sherman, Charlestown, RI; 7. Nick Pappacoda, Branford; 8. Jeffrey Lee, Uncasville; 9. Sean Caron, East Hampton; 10. Ray Christian III, Groton; 11. Wayne Burroughs Jr., Oakdale; 12. Garrett Denton, Hope Valley, RI; 13. Joe Liskiewicz, Preston

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Light Modifieds (25-laps):

 1. Corey Barry, Plainfield; 2. Larry Goss, North Windham; 3. Chris Ignazio, Colchester; 4. Jeff Fialkovich, Shelton; 5. Victoria Bergenty, Plainville; 6. Paul Buzel, Trumbull; 7. Alan Benincaso, Westport; 8. Randy Churchill Jr., Oakdale














Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: August 14, 2013