Craig Gabriele



Whelen Southern Modified Tour 2013 Preview


WSMT opens its season on Saturday March 16 @ Caraway Speedway in Sophia, NC. The first of 5 stops @ Caraway for the Modifieds.

                 Track Facts:

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour


Late Model Stock
Limited Late Model
Mini Stock
Mini Truck


SHAPE: Semi-banked oval
SURFACE: Asphalt
LENGTH: .455 Mile


The potent 28 of George Brunnhoelzl III a 3 time champion (2009, 2011, 2012) is a heavy favorite to win title #4. Howard Harvey who was the owner of the 09 for the last 2 GB III titles has retired.  GB III will return to driving the family owned 28 Modified for 2013.

George Brunnhoelzl III (No. 28 Brunnhoelzl Racing Chevrolet)
• Finished 10th in his last Caraway start in October of last year – lowest finish in last 17 starts there.
• Eight Caraway wins is tied for a tour-best with Brian Loftin.
• Has wins in four of his last six starts at the North Carolina track.
• Has started from the pole in each of his last three Caraway outings.
• Registered a top-five finish in 15 of his last 17 starts at the .455-mile oval.
• Won the Southern Modified Tour championship in 2009 and 2011 and 2012.

The Schedule will have 12 events for 2013. 5 @ Caraway, 2 @ Southern National  Motorsports Park, 1 @ South Boston, 1 @ Bowman- Gray, 1 @ Langley, 1 @ Charlotte and the combo event with the WMT @ Bristol.





Feb 19

UNOH Battle at the Beach (non-points)
Daytona International Speedway

Steve Park

Race Results
Race Review

Mar 16

Charles Kepley Memorial 150
Caraway Speedway



Mar 23

KOMA Unwind Relaxation Drink 150
Southern National Motorsports Park



Apr 13

South Boston 150
South Boston Speedway



Apr 20

NWSMT Caraway 4/20/13
Caraway Speedway



Jul 5

NWSMT Caraway 7/5/13
Caraway Speedway



Aug 3

NWSMT Bowman Gray 8/3/13
Bowman Gray Stadium



Aug 21

NWSMT Bristol 8/21/13
Bristol Motor Speedway



Aug 31

NWSMT Langley 8/31/13
Langley Speedway



Sep 8

NWSMT Caraway 9/8/13
Caraway Speedway



Sep 21

NWSMT Southern National 9/21/13
Southern National Motorsports Park



Sep 28

NWSMT Caraway 9/28/13
Caraway Speedway



Oct 10

NWSMT Charlotte 10/10/13
Charlotte Motor Speedway





Danny Bohn (No. 65 Rustoleum/Rifenburg Construction Chevrolet)

The last time we saw Bohn he was on his roof @ Daytona.
• Earned his first tour win in his last Caraway start on Oct. 6, 2012.
• Also has scored Caraway finishes of third (July 6) and fifth (April 7) last season.
• Was 2012 Sunoco Rookie of the Year for the Whelen Southern Modified Tour.
• Was championship runner-up to George Brunnhoelzl III a season ago.

Andy Seuss (No. 11 Ideal Racing/RAHMOC Engines Chevrolet)
• Finished eighth in last Caraway start in Oct. 2012.
• Opened the 2012 season with a 17th-place showing at Caraway after an accident shortened his day.
• Has six career Caraway wins with the last coming Oct. 1, 2011.
• Leads active drivers with 1,013 laps lead at the North Carolina oval.

Burt Myers (No. 1 CitruSafe/Adams Towing & Recovery Ford)
• Finished 11th in his last Caraway start in Oct. 2012.
• Placed eighth in the Caraway season opener last year.

• Leads tour with 12 Caraway pole wins.
• Lone Caraway victory came on April 9, 2005.
• Won the 2010 Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship.

Brian Loftin (No. 23 L&R Transmission/QMF Metal & Electronic Solutions Chevrolet)
• Finished second to Danny Bohn in his last Caraway start in October of last season.
• Began the 2012 campaign with a seventh-place effort at Caraway last March.
• Eight wins at Caraway is tied for the tour lead with George Brunnhoelzl III.
• Most recent win at the ,455-mile oval came on April 7, 2012.
• Won the 2008 Whelen Southern Modified Tour championship.

Tim Brown (No. 02 Hayes Jewelers/T&C Motorsports Chevrolet)
• Finished seventh in his last Caraway start on Oct. 6, 2012.
• Finished 13th in last year’s season opener at Caraway.
• Two-time Caraway winner last won on Sept. 27, 2008.
• Has recorded a top-10 finish in seven of his last 10 Caraway starts.

Jason Myers (No. 4 Myers Racing Ford)
• Logged a fourth-place finish in last Caraway outing in Oct. 2012.
• Registered runner-up finish to eventual tour champion George Brunnhoelzl III in the 2012 opener at Caraway.
• Career-best Caraway finish of second on two occasions – March 31, 2012 and April 21, 2007.
• Has recorded eight straight top-10 finishes at Caraway.
• Leads all tour drivers with 32 career top-10 finishes at Caraway.

John Smith (No. 25 Havoline Xpress Lube/G-Oil Chevrolet)
• Placed ninth in last visit to Caraway in October of last year.
• Recorded a fifth-place finish in last year’s season opener at Caraway.
• Earned his only tour win on July 2, 2010 at Caraway Speedway.
• Has nine top-five and 21 top-10 finishes in 34 career Caraway starts.

Kyle Ebersole (No. 5 Ebersole Excavating Ford)
• Scored a third-place finish in his last Caraway start in October of last year to establish career-best at track.
• Posted a fourth-place finish on April 21, 2012.
• Placed 24th in last year’s Caraway season opener.


18 – Dalton Baldwin Dunedin, FL

40 -  Luke Fleming  Mt. Airy, NC

70 – Jeremy Gerstner Wesley Chapel, FL

All 3 ROTY candidates ran the Battle at The Beach @ Daytona.  Baldwin and Gerstner will travel from Florida.















Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: March 15, 2013