Pete Smith



Early Saturday it didn’t look like mother nature would cooperate but the persistent showers were not enough to slow the show at Waynesfield Raceway park.  Nor did they keep drivers  away from the facility as 120 cars in five divisions crowded the pits for Buffalo Wild Wings Night.

In the Best Performance Motorsports non wing sprints an enormous field of 39 cars and drivers were on hand, each vying for one of 20 starting spots in the 25 lap feature. Each of the four heat races were frantic, on the tacky track.  Heat one saw  the 37 of Mike Dunlap prevail in a race long battle with the 9N of Luke Hall, who would finish second. Also picking up transfers were the 9x of mike Brecht and 15 of Brandon Ferguson . Heat two saw its fair share of cautions, in one instance the cars  of the 48H of Scott Hull and  the 10J of Jarrod Delong would tangle with the yellow already waving for a separate incident involving the 12 of Jamie Davis. The pair was running in second and third respectively safely in transfer positions. They would both continue but be sent to the rear, the back luck would continue for Delong who would end up parked on top of the 3x Mike McGuire on the ensuing restart. In the end the 74 of Tony Main would claim the heat win followed by 46 ofCody Gardner,  the 34 of Jimmy Snead and the  41J of Jeremy Powley. Heat three , saw the 23s of Kyle simon jumping out to the lead and never looking back he was pursued by the 54 of Matt Westfall , 2M of Dallas Hewitt and 39 of Matt Goodnight all picking up transfers as well.  Heat four saw the 5A of Toby Alfrey get upside down after hopping the wheel of the 14 of Daryl Daugherty in a tight battle of the final transfer spot on lap 3. Alfrey walked away from the incident but would be done for the heat.  The 5m of Ken Wolters would eventually get the heat win with the 82 of Mike Miller, 24P of Rod Henning and the 14 of Daryl Daugherty also picking up spots in the feature, Daugherty just beating out the 5w of Jeff Williams at the line after a long battle for the position.

Those not transferring through the heats were left  to compete for the final 4 starting spots in two B Mains each taking the top two to the feature. In the first B it was 7R of Nick Daugherty who would get the win, with the 55 of Matt Phillips earning the final transfer after a close battle with the 1H of Kevin Hawk and the 2 of Dustin Ingle, Phillips also survived contact early in the race with the 48 of Mike Burkin who would end up spinning in the incident. In the second B the red would fly early for the 63 of Hustin Hewitt who would hop a wheel , almost get upside and end up collecting the 12 of Jamie Davis. Both would be ok and suffer only minor damage in the altercation. The rest of the race would see the 2K of Kevin Klatte lead but on the penultimate lap klatte would slip up allowing the 48H of Scott Hull and the 5W of Jeff Williams to pass, giving the pair tickets to the feature and leaving Klatte outside the top two.

The feature would get off to a slow start with the 7R of Nick Daugherty making contact with an infield tire and getting upside down on the start. The Daugherty crew would make repairs to the 7r and he would rejoin the field for the second start. When the green came back out it was the 9N of Luke Hall who would shoot out to the lead. Hall’s lead would be uncontested until the final corner when the 54 of Matt Westfall would make a last ditch effort to get his inside, Hall was equal to the challenge and would come home with the victory. Matt West fall in the 54 , the 2M of Dallas Hewitt, 23S of Kyle Simon and 5M of Ken Wolters would round out the top 5. The win for Luke Hall was well merited as throughout the race he appeared to have the dominant ride driving away from Westfall numerous times.


In Post AgriService UMP modifieds, the heats would feature very tight racing and lots of bumping and banging on the heavy track.  Heat wins would go to the 5X of Jerry Bowersock, 20K Bill Keeler and the 21M of Donnie Miller. The B main was claimed by the M1G of Matt Twining

In the feature it was the hole- bowersock show , battleing each other for the top spot for the first half of the race. The duel couldn’t seem to escape each other all night also battling for the entirety of their heat race .  Bowersock would initially work past the ZERO Machine of Brent Hole on lap 7 only to have the yellow come out and forced to complete the pass again. At the end of the 20 lap distance , Bowersock would come away with the win Hole second and the 36 of Brandon Vaughan would complete the podium. 

In Performance Powder Coating AMSA mini sprints, heat wins went to the 00 of Michael Helterbran, 28H Rod Henning, and 12J of Tyler Moore. The B main was claimed by the 24 of Gary Campbell. The Feature saw the 15 of Aaron Farney pick up the win with the 24L of Lee Underwood and 12J of Tyler Moore finishing second and third respectively .

An Entertaining Block Insurance tough truck feature saw the 37 of Roy Miller take home the trophy after a race filled with side by side racing. In JR and Son’s Service Center Compacts the 82 of Harvey Yoder took the feature win.

For a complete rundown you can check the results page on waynesfield’s website at

Waynesfield track staff should be given the highest marks for track prep, the on and off rain showers created a challenging situation at best. Yet, the crew stayed on top of the track all night, the 1/3 mile bullring never getting too rough and staying multi-grooved. The entire racing program was complete by 11:30, the sprint portion before 11:00.

Waynesfield Raceway Park features a program that may be one the best value’s in short track racing with general admission just costing $12.00.  Our reporting team was thoroughly impressed with the track’s efficiency in running the program, the facilities and overall friendliness of staff , fans and drivers . We want to extend a big thank you to Waynesfield for a very enjoyable visit.

By Pete Smith

Staff Writer

Ohio_openwheel on twitter

Buckeye_openwheel on Facebook















Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: June 17, 2013