Pete Smith




Eldora Speedway scheduled the 32nd annual FOUR CROWN NATIONALS for September 20 & 21, 2013. Mother Nature won the event on Friday night, but the winners on Saturday were the many race fans in attendance.

The format for the Nationals has had various formats over the last three decades. The current version has the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars competing on Friday night and the USAC open wheelers racing on Saturday. A cold front on Friday brought with it heavy rains that caused the World of Outlaws portion to be cancelled.

The USAC drivers were greeted with a moist and very racy half mile surface. The box score will show that Rico Abreu won the 25 lap midget race and that Chris Windom won both the 30 lap sprint car race and 50 lap Silver Crown race. 

Eldora Speedway has had its share of criticism for being a follow the leader race track. That certainly was not the case on Saturday. Twenty midgets qualified for the three heat races. Tanner Thorson, who qualified 14, won the first heat race from the second starting position. Christopher Bell won the second heat race coming from the second row. Likewise Chris Windom had to come from the second row to win the third heat race. The 25 lap feature had Bryan Clausen leading the first 6 laps and Abreu & Bell dueling slide by slide for 19 laps with Abreu. Abreu became the 100th driver to win a USAC feature at Eldora.

The sprint car portion saw 35 cars take qualifying. Heat races were won by Tracy Hines, Daron Clayton, Gary Taylor and Robert Ballou. Only Talyor started on the front row of his heat race.  The 12 lap semi-feature started 18 sprint cars. Dave Darland went to a back-up car and had to start last. Dallas Hewitt won from the front row. Darland went from last to finish second. The 30 lap feature had Bryan Clausen starting on the pole and Dave Darland again starting last. The race was action packed to say the least. Brady Bacon flipped on lap 15 to bring out the first red flag. Clayton led the first 24 laps only to flip on lap 25 for red flag number two. Hines then took over. Hines took the white flag on lap 29. Coming out of turn four and looking at the checked flag, Hines hit the wall and flipped. Chris Windom, running second inherited the lead. Windom led a total of 1 lap to claim the win. Jac Haudenschild, who showed how he earned the moniker “wild child”, was second. Darland, after starting last, was third.  Darland passed 37 cars between the semi and the feature races. So much for any thoughts that this is a follow the leader track.

The final race of the evening was the 50 lap Silver Crown race. A large field of 20 cars took the green flag. Starting on the pole, Bobby East led the first 3 laps. Chris Windom came from fifth starting spot to take the lead on lap 4. Tracy Hines began to close in on Windom. On lap 48 Hines, who was a close second, hit the fourth turn wall and flipped. Windom went on to win his second feature of the night. Matt Westfall was second followed by Shane Cockrum and Taylor Ferns. Dave Darland, starting ninth, came home fifth. Windom was the eighth different Silver Crown winner in eight races in 2013. Bobby East claimed the Silver Crown title by finishing sixth.
















Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: September 23, 2013