Big Steve Wright



Veteran's Danny Smith and RJ Conley take home the checkered as Dave Pinkerton hangs on to win  

 After two straight rainouts and a couple cold nasty weeks, we were once again at the Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe, Ohio for a regular show. A good field of cars were on hand for what looked to be a great night for racing, and that it was.
  In sprint car action Ryan Broughton jumped out to an early lead but didn't hold it long as a charging Danny Smith made the pass for the lead on lap 6 and looked to have it in the bag. Behind him a battle for second was heating up with Broughton, Jimmy Stinson and Mark Imler. Broughton and Stinson were passing each other back and forth before Stinson bagged the second position coming into turns 3 and 4 but a lapped car in the middle of the track sent Stinson high and Broughton low, as the two split the lapped car, but after coming back together the two made contact sending Broughton into a spin. Broughton was not a happy camper as he exited his mount and began to tell Stinson just how he felt about it with a one finger salute. On the restart the hard charging 16th starting Nathan Skaggs made his presence known as he was up to the fourth position. Skaggs, who won the B-Main, was up to 10th by lap 5 and by lap 12 he had 4th spot wrapped up and was putting pressure on 3rd place running Josh Davis. On a restart after a red flag for a flipping Nate Reeser, Skaggs slid by Josh Davis and Jimmy Stinson and set his sights for leader Danny Smith. Skaggs who put his nose under Smith on numerous occasions fell just short and couldn't get the job done as legend Danny Smith rode his momentum off the top and would slide down back in front of Skaggs. On the last lap Skaggs had a chance using a lapped car for a pick but Smith had other ideas as he made a bonsai move  between Skaggs and the lapped car to take the win. Rounding out the top five were Smith, Skaggs, Davis, Dallas Hewitt and Mark Imler.
  Danny dedicated his win to the Coor's Light Gang saying, "I Dedicate this win the Coors Light Gang, who has had some adversity this week and want to keep them in our prayers. This is the 40th Anniversary Year for me and now we have won one race every year that I have raced. I told myself when I quit winning, I would quit, so it looks like I am good for another year!"
  Late model action saw RJ Conley and Jason Montgomery bring the field to the green flag. At the drop of the green Jason Montgomery slid too high in turn one and lost a lot of ground. RJ held the lead as his father Delmas Conley kept him in his sights until lap 22 when he and the lapped machine of Lauren Longbrake made contact sending Delmas spinning in turn three. On the restart third running Chris Garnes would have the same luck as he slid too high in turn two nearly flipping but regained control. A few late race cautions bunched the field back up as it was now Jackson Ohio's Greggie Oliver on RJ's tail and would put pressure on RJ but couldn't get the job done as RJ went on to take the win. Behind him was Oliver, Rod Conley, Jason Montgomery and Kevin Wagner.

  The modified feature seemed like it was never going to get started as it took five attempts before finally having a single file restart. Early leaders Rick Hensley and Kevin Dulaney both were victims of early spins which looked to set the stage for Kenny Johnson but on lap nine his car seemed to stall and quit bringing out another caution giving Dave "Fireball" Pinkerton the lead. Kenny Johnson would battle his way back up to second but couldn't get the job done as Pinkerton took the win. Rounding out the top five were Johnson, hard charger Tanner Wilson, Dave Jameson and Brandon Oliver.














Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: April 20, 2014