Big Steve Wright



RJ Conley triumphs, after two previous leaders had engine woes and had to pull in ,to win the 1st Annual "Buckeye 30" at the Southern Ohio Speedway in Wheelersburg, Oh.


  After making 2 prior attempts to get this race in it was the third time that was the charm with beautiful skies and comfortable temperatures which made for a good night for racing. At the end of the night it was RJ Conley pulling into victory lane after both Jackie Boggs and Jason Montgomery both pulled off the track while leading the race with car troubles. RJ held off a late race charge by his father Delmas Conley to cross the finish line in first.
  Jackson Ohio's Jason Montgomery started on the front row and jumped out to an early lead. Jackie Boggs, who was driving a number 10w while waiting to get his car put back together, started the race in 6th after failing to make the call for the dash but was guaranteed the sixth starting spot in the feature. Jackie made some good moves getting to the front and made it look easy but his night ended sooner than he had hoped as he pulled off the track during a caution giving the lead back to Montgomery who lead for a few laps and he too went pit side with suspension troubles.
  After Montgomery's night ended that put RJ Conley in the lead with his dad Delmas in tow. Delmas would get a few chances to get his nose under RJ but couldn't get it done as RJ crossed the finish line in first. Following him across the line was Delmas Conley, Daniel Kattine and RJ's son JT Conley rounded out the top five with Tommy Twinam, Mick Sansom, Jeremy Akers, Richie Edwards and Mark Morrison rounding out the top ten.
  Next up for the Southern Ohio Speedway is the "Hall of Fame Classic" paying late models $3,000 to win once again with another class of veterans being inducted into the Southern Ohio Speedway's Hall of Fame. Running with the late models is Modifieds, Sport Mods, Pure Stocks and an Enduro. Should be another exciting night of racing so I hope to see you there.














Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: July 29, 2013