Big Steve Wright



"Insane" Duane Chamberlain, Danny Smith and Travis Dickson survive a wild night to get to victory lane


What looked to be a great day for racing turned into a wild and crazy night. It started in sprint hot laps as Ron Blair got a little too high in turn 1 and hit a rut and went for a wild ride coming to rest at the top of turn 2. When asked what happened Ron said, "It happened way too fast and I have no idea what happened." I'd say quite a few drivers were saying that as their ride was being hauled back to the pit area on the back of one of the Atomic Speedway wreckers.

After hot laps the late models and sprints were both given one lap qualifying to see where they would start in their heat race. "Insane" Duane Chamberlain came out and set fast time in late models as a very fast Cole Duncan paced the field in the sprints. In heat race action Chamberlain, Jason Montgomery and Rod Conley all won their heat races as all the heats went along pretty smooth except Chamberlain punched a hole in his radiator and the team had to hurry to get the hole patched up before the feature. That wasn't the case for the sprint's as it all started in heat one when Cole Duncan made a move on Brandy Bower to take over the lead only to end up with a tore up ride sitting at the top of turn 2 as he ended up hitting the same rut that Blair hit in hot laps and came to rest after flipping a couple times and landing on his wheels. After the restart Brandy Bower had the top spot but the field would again be stopped under a red for a flipping Adam Strausser who hit the same exact rut as the first two but he didn't get so lucky to just come to rest on the track as he went over the hill and his mangled up car got wedged between the pit road fence and guardrail. It took them about 20 minutes to get the racing started back up as the Atomic Speedway crew ran a tractor over the rut and smoothed it out. It was then Brandy Bower who went on to win the first heat race, Sam Ashworth, Danny Smith and Ryan Broughton won the remaining heat races.

Next up was the late model feature which saw the Insane one "Insane" Duane Chamberlain make his first trip to the Atomic Speedway, since it reopened at the end of last season, pay off as he took the lead from Rod Conley, after a torrid battle, on lap 7 of the 25 lap affair and never looked back as he went on to win the $1,500 top prize. Following Chamberlain across the stripe was Rod Conley, Delmas Conley, Jason Montgomery, Mark Frazier, JT Conley, Billy Gullion, Kevin Wagner, Ralph Withem, Mick Sansom, Jay Helton, Justin Carter, Jeff Arnold, Joe Ramey, Josh Haynes, Tim Stewart, Avery Taylor and Greggie Oliver, who broke a transmission in hot laps and broke something in the rear end in qualifying so he never got to race the late model but jumped into Kevin Dulaney's modified and finished fourth.

In the sprint car main event Mark Imler set the pace at first and survived two red flags and four cautions. He got a good jump on the field but after 7 laps second place runner Sam Ashworth began putting pressure on Imler and as Ashworth pulled up beside Imler to battle for the lead Bryan Nuckles hit the turn three wall and turned over on his side and Ashworth got caught up in the mishap hitting Greg Nicholas and his car came to rest, he was able to continue but it took away his momentum. On the restart Imler kept onto his lead as Ryan Broughton worked his way into the top handful of cars. Also on the move was last starting Cole Duncan, who flipped after taking the lead in his heat race and worked extra hard to get the car ready for the feature. After a caution on lap 17 the Atomic Speedway crew decided to let the cars put 5 gallons of gas in their cars. On the restart Imler still had the lead but Broughton and Danny Smith both got by Ashworth and made it a three car race. On the restart after a late race red flag Broughton got a good jump and rode it into the lead and looked to have them covered until his ignition box failed which gave the lead back to Imler who had a red hot Smith on his tail. Imler seemed to like the low side but as he went in low Danny Smith rode his momentum off the high side to take the win. Behind him was Imler, Duncan, Josh Davis, Aaron Higgins, Sam Ashworth, Jimmy Stinson, Kory Crabtree, Wes McGlumphy, Nate Reeser, Taylor Ferns, Brandy Bower, Broughton, Randy Fink, Rick Fraley, Dean Kester, Kevin Roberts Jr, Jesse McCreary, John Shewbrooks, David Smith, Greg Nicholas, Bryan Nuckles, Adam Strausser, Ron Blair.

The modified feature was a good battle between Travis Dickson, Kenny Johnson, Fireball Pinkerton Greggie Oliver and Jimmy Lennox. Once again the race was halted, this time for a flipping Dave Jameson on the front stretch which lead to a two car battle with Dickson and Johnson in a torrid battle for the top spot as the two were flying through lapped cars. Dickson held his lead but it wasn't easy as Johnson was right on his rear bumper but Dickson was able to keep the charging Kenny "worth the price of admission" Johnson behind him as he took the win. Behind them were Pinkerton, Oliver, Lennox and Mark Dickson.



**Note from the night**

*8 red flags slowed the racing action with 7 of those resulting in flips, nobody was injured

*18 year old Michigan native Taylor Ferns made her first trip to the Atomic Speedway, Taylor became the youngest female to ever win a 410 sprint car race at the age of 16














Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: May 02, 2014