the dr. Mitch Walker



Man what a night…..

With the threat of rain looming the Track Management at NGS chose to race when all the surrounding tracks canceled and , it was the right thing to do .

The car count was way up there in Mod Hobby with 21 cars taking the green in the feature, lead to the flag by Mark Bishop in the 11 and Greg Sudderth in the 34, and Mark bishop made a dive to the bottom in turn one for the lead but the 34 of Sudderth beat him off the corner and lead the first lap then it was Mark Bishop showing that he knew how to get around NGS and he led for 11 laps but the front 4 of  Bishop, booger Brooks and Richard Dixon and Jordan Rodabaugh was putting on one hell of a show. And with the lead changing almost every lap it was hard to say who was leading at the line, but when the checkered flew it was Booger Brooks taking the win.

But wait, it was not over yet, as the cars rolled across the scales the 3 of Richard Dixon was DQ’ed for an illegal suspension part, the very part mentioned in last week’s drivers meeting, the 3rd link.

Dixon had a rubber busicuit bar, and rule book says solid bar only so he was tossed, then the 66 of Rodabaugh rolled up and he was tossed for the same infraction. And when Brooks rolled around to cross the scales he was protested by the 11 car owners and Brooks refused to tear down, giving the win to the 11 car of Mark Bishop. After the DQ’s it was Bishop, the 11 of Delbert Haynes, the 34 of Greg Suderth and the 1 of Jr Whitner at the payout window.

Crate feature was a flat barn burner with a couple restarts it was finally Aaron Wheat in the 99 taking off with the TEAM17 17H of Jeff Smith in hot pursuit, with a scare as Wheat was spun by a lapped car , but got his spot back and gave the TEAM17 car all he wanted taking the win followed by Jeff Smith, Kenny Kizzar and Doug Kilgore.

When the Limited Late Models took the track the track was looking good and very racy, Brian Jackson took off chasing the 71 of Spencer Singleton and was reeling him in when water on the track took out the 07 of Heather Taylor and the leaders spun to avoid contact with her, after that it was  all Singleton as Jackson couldn’t get his tires to fire and he tried but just couldn’t run down the super fast Singleton. I want to say that Brian Burke and Lamar Scoggins put on a hell of a show for 4th  lap after lap with the 2 veterans showing they could flat get around NGS. But at the line it was the 71 of Spencer Singleton, the B3 of Brian Jackson, the B39 of Brian Burke and the 32 of Lamar Scoggins.

Derek Ellis lead the Super feature wire to wire with multi time track Champ Gary MacPhearson taking second followed by Mashburn and Davy Davis rounding out the top 4. Showing that Derek Ellis Racing (Who Aaron Wheat is crew chief for) had it figured out tonight.

Ralph Langston drove to the win in Stock Pony and Billy Callahan took the win in Mod Pony.

It was a great night of racing with so many Mod Hobby cars showing up and putting on the best show of the night.

Due to a camera malfunction tonight I have no photo’s, hope to have that fixed by next week.


The dr.












Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013