FRANCIS rolls to 1st win in 2005 Summer Nationals at Farley Speedway ... Results

Steve Francis just seems to get stronger each outing at Farley but mechanical problems/bad luck has plagued the Ashland, KY driver at his visits at the Place of Speed, and tonight proved to be  the turning point as Francis powered to the front to win his 1st UMP 2005 Summer National Tour & 1st ever win at Farley Speedway.  Francis held off all challengers, including an exciting battle with Brian Birkhofer over the last 10 laps but came away with the win in the 40 lap main event and pocketing yet another $10,000 to his bankroll.

Birkhofer lead the field to the green flag but O'Neal muscled his way on the inside to take the lead on lap 1.  Steve Boley charged to the front from his 7th starting position!  on lap 15 to take the lead from O'Neal as Brian Birkhofer & Steve Francis were in hot pursuit of Boley.   On lap 28 Birkhofer took the lead from Boley as Boley had the right rear tire go flat with Francis taking over the second spot.  On lap 31 as Birkhofer was passing lap traffic, Francis took the inside line & took the lead from Birkhofer.  The Kentucky Colonel and Dirty Dozen member Steve Francis who was wheeling the Larry Moring owned mount, was able to hold off a charging Birkhofer during the final 9 laps. Following the duo to the stripe were Don O'NealBrady Smithcurrent Summer Nationals points leader Shannon Babb(after starting at the tail on lap 1 f! or a broken tie-rod), Brian Shirley, Rodney Melvin, Pete Parker, Ron Barker, Bobby Moyer.

Francis dedicated his 1st Summer National win to his Crew for giving him a great car & Owner Larry Moring for opportunity to drive for the owner.

Don O'Neal began the evening by recording the fast time honors among the 22 cars on hand with a lap of 19.22.

The trophy dash was won by Brian Birkhofer over Steve Francis, Don O'NealJimmy Mars,&! nbsp;Shannon BabbDennis ErbSteve BoleyRodney Melvin and Patric Sheltra.


Heat races were won by Steve Boley over Pete ParkerJordon BlandGreg Johnson, Patric SheltraRon Barker, Dan Shelliam, Lyle Zanker and Rodney Melvin over Brady SmithScott Nesteby, Brian Shirley, Jeep Van Wormer, Bobby Moyer, Matt Mish.

Jeff Valentine"the bounty hunter" won the 15 lap Pro Stock Feature in a great battle with Jeff Reinhert through out the race.


Qualifying - 20 cars

1. Don O'Neal

2. Jimmy Mars

3. Brian Birkhofer

4. Shannon Babb

5. Steve Francis

6. Patric Sheltra

7. Rodney Melvin

8. Steve Boley

9. Brady Smith

10. Jordon Bland



40 Lap A-Main Finish:
1. Steve Francis(Ashland,KY)
2. Brian Birkhofer(Muscatine, IA)
3. Don O'Neal(Martinsville, IN)
4. Brady Smith(Solon Springs, WI)

5. Shannon Babb(Decatur, IL)
6. Brian Shirley

7. Rodney Melvin

8. Pete Parker

9. Ron Barker

10. Bobby Moyer
11. Matt Mish
12. Steve Boley
13. Dennis Erb
14. Jeep Van Wormer
15. Jimmy Mars
16. Greg Johnson
17. Scott Nesteby
18. Patric Sheltra
19. Lyle Zanker
20. Gary Crawford
21. Jordon Bland
22. Dan Shelliam


Pro Stock Feature:

1. Jeff Valentine(Dubuque)

2.  Jeff Reinhert(Dyersville)

3.  Ken Martelle(LaMotte)

4.  Larry McCall(Mechanicsville)

5.  Keith Kiernan(Dubuque)

6.  Levi Benn

7.  Steve Hunter

8.  Austin Blume

9.  Brian Dirks

10. Rod Cameron

11. Brian Beaudry

12. Joe Zrostlik

13.  Bob Bollen

14.  Scott Riechers

15.  Jeff Tharp

16.  Jim Brockus 



Graphics By: Page Design By:

D.J.K. Web

Our Gallery
Web Design

Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: April 07, 2013