Volusia Dirt Car Nationals

Rain Wipes Out 360 OTC World of Outlaws Late Model Series Opener


BARBERVILLE, FL – Feb. 15, 2007 – A band of light, pesky showers descended on Volusia Speedway Park Thursday night, forcing the cancellation of Thursday night’s 360 OTC World of Outlaws Late Model Series season opener that was a featured attraction of the 36th annual Florida DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop.


Time trials for the evening’s 90-car field were completed and heat-race lineups had just been posted when the rain arrived. The half-mile oval quickly became too slick for competition, prompting officials to send the first scheduled Advance Auto Parts Super DIRT Series big-block Modified heat to the pit area.


Officials kept the program under a rain delay until deciding that the track surface had become too wet to swiftly reclaim. They announced that the tour’s scheduled lidlifter was washed out and would not be rescheduled.


A complete new program of 360 OTC WoO LMS action will be run as scheduled on Sat., Feb. 17. The 50-lap, $10,000-to-win event will now both open the tour’s 2007 season and bring down the curtain on the Florida DIRTcar Nationals.


“The rain that moved in created an unfortunate situation,” said Bret Emrick, the 360 OTC WoO LMS Race Director. “The track crew did their best, but when Mother Nature intervenes, you’re at her mercy.


“It’s disappointing to start the season with a rainout, but you can’t control the weather.”


Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, Wis., recorded the fastest lap in qualifying, circling the track in 16.179 seconds.


Though the qualifying results were wiped out by the cancellation, Schlieper did receive the $100 All-Pro Trailer Inc. Fast Time Award. In addition, the 2007 360 OTC WoO LMS rules state that because time trials were commenced when weather ended the show, all drivers who entered the program will receive 75 show-up points.


Officials said that all pit passes and general admission tickets purchased for Thursday night’s program can be used for entrance to either the Friday or Saturday cards of the Florida DIRTcar Nationals.


The Florida DIRTcar Nationals will continue on Friday night (Feb. 16) with a doubleheader featuring the $10,000-to-win UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Model finale and a 30-lap Advance Auto Parts Super DIRT Series big-block Modified feature.


For more information on the Florida DIRTcar Nationals, visit or call the track office at 386-985-4402.


Time Trial Results (Position/No./Driver/Hometown/Best Lap):


1. 9-Dan Schlieper/Sullivan, WI 16.179

2. 44P-Earl Pearson Jr./Jacksonville, FL 16.223

3. 16R-Justin Ratliff/Campbellsville, KY 16.263

4. 39-Tim McCreadie/Watertown, NY 16.346

5. 4-Greg Johnson/Bedford, IN 16.436

6. 44A-Adam Hensel/Barrow, WI 16.572

7. 44M-Chris Madden/Grey Court, SC 16.579

8. 19-Tim Fuller/Watertown, NY 16.681

9. 45-Ricky Elliott/Seaford, DE 16.689

10. 49-Jonathan Davenport/Blairsville, GA 16.731

11. 25-Shane Clanton/Locust Grove, GA 16.742

12. 15B-Brian Birkhofer/Muscatine, IA 16.779

13. 1D-Ronnie DeHaven Jr./Winchester, VA 16.784

14. E1-Mike Balzano/Parkersburg, WV 16.809

15. 29-Darrell Lanigan/Union, KY 16.817

16. 17x-Greg Oliver/Jackson, OH 16.844

17. 0-Scott Bloomquist/Mooresburg, TN 16.864

18. 58c-Garrett Durrett/Simsboro, LA 16.908

19. 27R-Jake Redetzke/Eau Claire, WI 16.982

20. 71-Chris Wall/Holden, LA 17.084

21. 33H-Chris Hackett/Erie, PA 17.090

22. 44-Clint Smith/Senoia, GA 17.095

23. 21L-Ivedent Lloyd/Ocala, FL 17.124

24. 18K-Brandon Kinzer/Allen, KY 17.138

25. 57J-Bub McCool/Vicksburg, MS 17.142

26. 12s-Jason Smith/Laurel, MS 17.155

27. 53-Ray Cook/Brasstown, NC 17.164

28. 99M-Donnie Moran/Dresden, OH 17.214

29. 83-Scott James/Greendale, IN 17.216

30. 88-Wendell Wallace/Batesville, AR 17.243

31. 5s-Steve Sheppard Jr./New Berlin, IL 17.248

32. 5-Eric Jacobsen/Santa Cruz, CA 17.264

33. 15-Steve Francis/Ashland, KY 17.283

34. 1c-Wayne Chinn/Tipp City, OH 17.291

35. 21-Billy Moyer/Batesville, AR 17.343

36. 32c-Vic Coffey/Leicester, NY 17.353

37. 21d-Dan Stone/Thompson, PA 17.388

38. 24-Rick Eckert/York, PA 17.430

39. 1-Josh Richards/Shinnston, WV 17.431

40. 91-Billy Decker/Unadilla, NY 17.433

41. 4a-Ricky Arms/Moss, TN 17.444

42. 1*-Chub Frank/Sugar Grove, PA 17.475

43. 25K-Rodney Kiker/Greenville, TNn 17.476

44. 28m-Jimmy Mars/Menominee, WI 17.495

45. 28-Eddie Carrier Jr./Salt Rock, WV 17.508

46. 34-Mike Marlar/Winfield, TN 17.531

47. 96-Terry English/Benton, TN 17.600

48. A1-Duke Whisenant/Texarkana, AR 17.601

49. i4-Damon Eller/Crumpler, NC 17.650

50. 1T-Peyton Taylor/Batesville, AR 17.652

51. 20-Jimmy Owens/Newport, TN 17.656

52. 1M-Mike Mataragas/Dekalb, IL 17.663

53. 71-Don O’Neal/Martinsville, IN 17.707

54. 42-Terry Casey/New London, WI 17.722

55. 78-Jeff Alsip/Walton, KY 17.736

56. 55-Jeep VanWormer/Piconning, MI 17.753

57. J0-J.O. Nobles/Nahunta, GA 17.883

58. 28e-Dennis Erb Jr./Carpentersville, IL 17.888

59. 7M-Matt Miller/Waterville, OH 17.920

60. 2jJ-Joe Denby/Tullahoma, TN 17.980

61. 44h-Dave Hess Jr./Waterford, PA 17.988

62. 3-Austin Dillon/Welcome, NC 18.201

63. 12b-Jordan Bland/Campbellsville, KY 18.214

64. 44c-Johnny Cloer Jr./Chatsworth, GA 18.232

65. 11R-Jerry Rice/Vernona, KY 18.237

66. 5E-Michael England/Glasgow, KY 18.336

67. 32s-Jeff Smith/Blain, PA 18.359

68. 18H-Ronny Lee Hollingsworth/Northport, Al 18.507

69. 23s-Patrick Sheltra/Indiantown, FL 18.630

70. 17D-Don Mihelich/Paw Paw, MI 18.693

71. 2-Joe Ramey/Ironton, OH 18.702

72. 56-Rohn Moon/Greenwood, IN 18.707

73. Q-Mike Jackson/Greenville, TN 18.741

74. 77-Jason McBride/Carbondale, IL 18.892

75. 5x-Ed Bauman/New Berlin, IL 18.960

76. 4B-Jackie Boggs/Grayson, KY 18.979

77. F9-Frank Ingram/Woodstock, GA 19.120

78. 61-Jamie Eichholz/Milford, DE 19.282

79. 12d-Chuck Julien/Apopka, FL 19.378

80. 38-Bob Geiger/Georgetown, DE 19.421

81. 16H-Mike Hammerle/St. Charles, MO 20.395

82. 86-Mike Amell/Cincinnati, OH 20.523

83. 93-Roy Mitchell/Rensselaer, IN 22.249

84. 18-Shannon Babb/Moweaqua, IL N/T

85. 23-John Blankenship/Williamson, WV N/T

86. 32d-Darren Miller/Milledgeville, IL N/T

87. 30-Steve Shaver/Vienna, WV N/T

88. M14-Kenny Pettyjohn/Millsboro, DE N/T

89. 14K-Kenny Adams/El Paso, IL N/T

90. 118-Devin Sebree/Burlington, KY


LISTEN ONLINE: If fans can’t get to a track to see the series, they can experience the excitement of the 360 OTC World of Outlaws Late Model Series live on through the DIRT Radio Network.


To listen to the free audio broadcasts, log on to and click on the DIRT Radio Network logo.


Listeners will need Windows Media Player 9 or higher to listen to the DIRT Radio Network. For technical support or questions, e-mail


The 306 OTC World of Outlaws Late Model Series is brought to fans across the country by several sponsors and partners, including Series sponsor 360 OTC pain reliever and contingency sponsors Wrisco Industries, Ohlins Shocks, Quarter-Master, Hawk Brake and Eibach Springs.







Volusia Dirt Car Nationals


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013