Volusia Dirt Car Nationals

Solwold Cruises to Volusia Victory on Night Two

BARBERVILLE, FL (2-7-07) The O’Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions
continued the 36th Annual DIRTcar Nationals with another record car
count. The pits were packed with 60 winged 410 sprint cars for the
second event of the All Star season. Several World of Outlaws drivers
joined the All Stars for this event to prepare for their season opener
on Feb. 9th. Steve Kinser and Tim Kaeding made their first appearance of
the 2007 season. Drivers from all over the country made the trip to
Florida this year to participate in the early season racing events.

New track record holder Jason Solwold started on the pole of the A-main
and when he took the green flag he never looked back on his way to
victory in the 25 lap event. The event only saw one caution for Zach
Chappel on lap 3. On the restart McCarl jumped into the 3rd place spot.
Craig Dollansky, McCarl, Brian Paulus, and Joey Saldana ran nose to tail
and side by side lap after lap. Solwold navigated lapped traffic like a
pro and held off several challenges by Dollansky.

McCarl looked as though he was going to make a run on the top two at the
midway point of the race but never quite got the momentum to get around
them. Paulus was able to hold off the previous night’s winner Saldana
who challenged him for the 4th spot time after time. Rounding out the
top 10 were Donny Schatz, Tony Bruce, Jr., Danny Smith, Mark Smith, and
Greg Hodnett.

“I want to thank Leonard Lee,” said Solwold from victory lane. “We run
good here. I had to conserve my tires but we ran them pretty hard at the
end. We got lucky.” Solwold went on to thank the fans. “I want to thank
everyone for coming out here in the cold weather to watch the race. I
hope we have a good week from here on out.”

Craig Dollansky, who finished second the night before, said, “We did
pretty good there toward the end but Jason did a great job in lapped
traffic. We hope to do a little better tomorrow night. I’m happy with
the results but we were just a little short the last two nights.”

Terry McCarl was excited to get a 3rd place finish. “We started 10th and
the car got tight early. We had a hard tire on and it started to slip
and slide for a few laps. We had a great car and I’m real excited about
this year. It’s going to be tough and there will be a lot of tough teams
out on the road.”

Once again the high car count forced the need for a Last Chance race for
those not making the top 48 spots. The top 4 would tag the tail of the
heat races. Robbie Vaughan won the event followed by Justin Collett,
Brandon Martin, and O’Reilly All Star rookie contender Craig Mintz who
has had mechanical problems since arriving in the sunshine state.

Heat races were won by Terry McCarl, Jason Meyers, Jeff Busby, and Randy
Hannagan. Heat race action was fast and furious fighting for the final
transfer spots.

It was evident that the number of cars on hand combined with the talent
level of those drivers would make for a very tough night for a lot of
teams. The C-main was packed with a star studded cast trying to make
their way into the B-main. Lucas Wolfe won over Daryn Pittman, Lance
Dewease, and Fred Rahmer. Ten other drivers were done for the evening.

The B-main was just as packed with 18 drivers that would make for a
great A-main anywhere in the country. Huggins Cams fast Danny Martin Jr.
ran away with the race followed by Chad Kemenah, Dustin Lindquist, and
Greg Hodnett. Paul McMahan just missed the transfer spot and loaded up
early. McMahan has been chasing mechanical problems and has had a
frustrating week so far.

A-main - MSD Ignition Starting Position [#]
1. R19-Jason Solwold[1]; 2. 7-Craig Dollansky[2]; 3. 24-Terry
McCarl[10]; 4. 28-Brian Paulus[4]; 5. 9-Joey Saldana[5]; 6. 15-Donny
Schatz[6]; 7. 18-Tony Bruce[8]; 8. 4-Danny Smith[9]; 9. 55-Mark
Smith[3]; 10. 22-Greg Hodnett[14]; 11. 11K-Tim Keading[24]; 12. 70-Chad
Kemenah[13]; 13. 5-Dustin Lindquest[12]; 14. D1! -Justin Henderson[7]; 15.
10C-Jeremy Campbell[16]; 16. 5C-Chad Hillier[21]; 17. 1X-Randy
Hannagan[20]; 18. OO-Danny Martin Jr.[11]; 19. 6S-Brad Sweet[17]; 20.
8K-Zach Chappell[15]; 21. 47J-Jeff Busby[19]; 22. 14-Jason Myers[23];
23. 36-Jason Martin[18]; 24. 11-Steve Kinser[22]








Volusia Dirt Car Nationals


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013