Volusia Dirt Car Nationals

Schatz Kicks Off Outlaw Season with Win Over Saldana

BARBERVILLE, FL (2-9-07) The O?Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions
handed off the baton to the World of Outlaws on night #4 of the 36th
Annual DIRTcar Nationals presented by Mopar Speedshop. The car count
remained high once again as it has been record setting all week long for
the first racing events of the 2007 season. A total of 58 cars were set
to do battle on the semi-banked mile under the World of Outlaw banner.

As the 2007 season got underway with the Outlaws it was Donny Schatz and
Joey Saldana who would be the class of the field. The more things change
the more they stay the same. Schatz and Saldana would sit on the front
row for the main event. All of the biggest names in sprint car racing
were back together again. With the demise of the National Sprintcar Tour
(NST) at the end of 2006, the world of 410 sprint car racing was
reunited giving the fans their money?s worth.

A-main action was intense from the drop of the green until the checkered
flag flew. Schatz and Saldana traded slide jobs back and forth for the
first half of the race and ran side by side putting on a show for the
capacity crowd. Lapped traffic would give Schatz fits after he took the
lead at the midway point of the race allowing Saldana to run him down
and make one final attempt to pass for the lead with less than 5 laps to
go. Schatz dodged traffic and left Saldana behind to finish second as
Danny Lasoski kept Craig Dollansky at bay to finish third. Rounding out
the top five was Tim Kaeding who claimed victory the night before in the
final All Star event of the week.

Heat Race #1 was won by Justin Henderson who pulled away from the pack
to a 4 car length lead. Saldana and Schatz battled wheel to wheel
throughout Heat Race #2 in another area code from the rest of the pack
as Saldana came out on top. Heat Race #3 saw Lasoski drive to the win
with Greg Wilson narrowly holding onto the transfer position. ?The Crowd
Pleaser? Craig Dollansky won Heat Race #4 as Paul McMahan and Jac
Haudenschild traded slide jobs for the 4th position with McMahan pulling
ahead for the spot as the checkered flag flew.

Dion Hindi led ?Fast Freddy? Rahmer to the checkers in C-main action to
nail down the two transfer spots into the B-main from the C.

B-main action saw Kerry ?Madman? Madsen run way out front as Randy The
Hurricane Hannagan chased him down for 12 laps. Zach Chappel sat solidly
in third place as Becca Anderson and Mark Smith banged wheels slicing
and dicing for the final transfer spot. Smith got into Anderson from the
bottom side of the track spinning both cars down the front stretch.
After the restart Lucas Wolfe was able to get around Jason Meyers to
grab the final spot in the main event.

The World of Outlaws Dash was dominated by Schatz who looked like he was
shot out of a cannon and Saldana trailed by 3 car lengths to make up the
front row of the A-main. Danny Lasoski, Jason Solwold, Daryn Pittman,
Craig Dollansky, Justin Henderson, Cody Darrah, Tim Kaeding, and Tony
Bruce Jr. rounded out the field to make up the first five rows of the
A-main event.

The All Stars will return to action in April at Attica Raceway Park in
Attica, OH for the Attica Spring Nationals two day event. Visit for more information. For more news and
information on the All Stars visit .

Heat 1 Finish
1. D1-Justin Henderson; 2. 11K-Tim Kaeding; 3. 6S-Brad Sweet; 4.
24-Terry Mccarl; 5. 89-Cody Darrah; 6. 1X-Randy Hannagan; 7. 5C-Chad
Hillier; 8. 25-Lance Dewease; ! 9. 55-Mark Smith; 10. 71M-Paul May; 11.
51-Fred Rahmer;dnf 12. 4-Danny Smith; dns

Heat 2 Finish
1. 9-Joey Saldana; 2. 15-Donny Schatz; 3. 11-Steve Kinser; 4. 2-Brooke
Tatnell; 5. 6T-Tim Shaffer; 6. 11H-Kerry Madsen; 7. 6F-Bob Felmlee; 8.
96-Bronson Maeschen; 9. 6W-Josh Wells; 10. 5-Dustin Lindquist; 11.
11D-Dion Hindi; 12. 22B-Ben Gregg

Heat 3 Finish
1. 83-Danny Lasoski; 2. 21-Daryn Pittman; 3. 22-Greg Hodnett; 4.
18T-Tony Bruce Jr; 5. 20W-Greg Wilson; 6. 7S-Jason Sides; 7. 36-Jason
Martin; 8. 19-Becca Anderson; 9. 10C-Jeremy Campbell; 10. 3-Kaley
Gharst; 11. OO-Danny Martin Jr.; 12. 18-Brian Carlson;

Heat 4 Finish
1. 7-Craig Dollansky; 2. R19-Jason Solwold; 3. 70-Chad Kemenah; 4.
20-Paul Mcmahan; 5. 35-Jac Haudenschild; 6. 8K-Zach Chappell; 7.
5W-Lucas Wolfe; 8. 32-Justin Barger; 9. 14-Jason Myers; 10. 15H-Sam
Hafertepe; 11. 1Z-Dusty Zomer; 12. 4R-Robbie Vaughan;

C-main Finish
1. 11D-Dion Hindi; 2. 51-Fred Rahmer; 3. 15H-Sam Hafertepe; 4. 3-Kaley
Gharst; 5. 71M-Paul May; 6. OO-Danny Martin Jr.; 7. 69-Justin Collett;
8. 18-Brian Carlson; 9. 22B-Ben Gregg; 10. 4R-Robbie Vaughan; 11.
32-Justin Barger; 12. 5-Dustin Lindquist; 13. 11T-T.J. Winegardner; 14.
4-Danny Smith dns;

Dash Finish
1. 15-Donny Schatz; 2. 9-Joey Saldana; 3. 83-Danny Lasoski; 4. r19-Jason
Solwold; 5. 21-Daryn Pittman; 6. 7-Craig Dollansky; 7. d1-Justin
Henderson; 8. 89-Cody Darrah; 9. 11k-Tim Kaeding; 10. 18t-Tony Bruce Jr;

B-main Finish
1. 11H-Kerry Madsen; 2. 1X-Randy Hannagan; 3. 8K-Zach Chappell; 4.
5W-Lucas Wolfe; 5. 14-Jason Myers; 6. 7S-Jason Sides; 7. 36-Jason
Martin; 8. 5C-Chad Hillier; 9. 1Z-Dusty Zomer; 10. 25-Lance Dewease; 11.
6F-Bob Felmlee; 12. 96-Bronson Maechen; 13. 11D-Dion Hindi; 14.
10C-Jeremy Campbell; 15. 6W-Josh Wells; 16. 19-Becca Anderson dnf; 17.
55-Mark Smith dnf; 18. 51-Fred Rahmer

A-main Finish - Starting Position [#]
1. 15-Donny Schatz[1]; 2. 9-Joey Saldana[2]; 3. 83-Danny Lasoski[3]; 4.
7-Craig Dollansky[6]; 5. 11K-Tim Kaeding[9]; 6. 21-Daryn Pittman[5]; 7.
R19-Jason Solwold[4]; 8. D1-Justin Henderson[7]; 9. 2-Brooke
Tatnell[16]; 10. 35-Jac Haudenschild[24]; 11. 11-Steve Kinser[15]; 12.
89-Cody Darrah[8]; 13. 11H-Kerry Madsen[18]; 14. 24-Terry Mccarl[21];
15. 1X-Randy Hannagan[17]; 16. 70-Chad Kemenah[13]; 17. 20W-Greg
Wilson[19]; 18. 20-Paul Mcmahan[11]; 19. 8K-Zach Chappell[20]; 20.
5W-Lucas Wolfe[23]; 21. 36-Jason Martin[26]; 22. 18T-Tony Bruce Jr[10];
23. 6T-Tim Shaffer[22]; 24. 6S-Brad Sweet[14]; 25. 10C-Jeremy
Campbell[25]; 26. 22-Greg Hodnett[12];





Volusia Dirt Car Nationals


Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013