Volusia Dirt Car Nationals

Saldana Opens DIRTcar Nationals with Win

Concord, NC—Feb. 7, 2007--By: Tony Veneziano, World of Outlaws PR Director


Joey Saldana opened the 36th Annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop in impressive form on Tuesday night as he claimed the win in the 25-lap event for the O’Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions.


Saldana, the 1996 World of Outlaws Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year started fifth and quickly worked his way into the lead, passing Lucas Wolfe on the fourth circuit. A long green flag run allowed the native of Brownsburg, Indiana who drives for NASCAR star Kasey Kahne to set a blistering pace as he lapped all the way up to the eighth-place finisher.


World of Outlaws drivers earned eight of the Top-10 spots when the checkered flag flew on the 25-lap event at the racy half-mile. Craig Dollansky, who finished second in World of Outlaws points last season, was second, nearly ten seconds behind Saldana. Tim Shaffer turned in another impressive early season run in his return from injury last season, as he was third. Terry McCarl came home fourth, with Daryn Pittman just behind him.


Jason Solwold came home sixth in the A-Feature, after setting a new track record of 12.948 seconds in time trials, besting the 58 cars on-hand. Jason Meyers turned in a very impressive run finishing seventh, after lining 22nd. He raced his way into the A-Feature by winning the B-Main.  Danny Lasoski, the 2001 World of Outlaws Champion was eighth on Thursday night.


Other World of Outlaws drivers that competed in the A-Feature included: Jason Sides, Tony Bruce Jr., who will battle for the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award this season, fellow rookie contender Chad Hillier, and Dion Hindi.


Other World of Outlaws drivers were in action on Tuesday night included: Jason Martin, Randy Hannagan, Jeremy Campbell, and Chad Kemenah.


The 2007 World of Outlaws season opens on February 9th as part of the 36th Annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop at Volusia Speedway Park.








Volusia Dirt Car Nationals


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013