Volusia Dirt Car Nationals

Solwold Wins Night Two of DIRTcar Nationals

Concord, NC—Feb. 8, 2007--By: Tony Veneziano, World of Outlaws PR Director


Jason Solwold opened up the 36th Annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop on Tuesday night by setting a new track record at Volusia Speedway Park. He bettered that on Wednesday night by winning the second night of racing for the O’Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions, against a stout field of nearly 60 cars.


Solwold, who finished sixth on the opening night of the DIRTcar Nationals started from the pole on Wednesday in the 25-lap event and led all the way. It was the second career win with the All Stars for the native of Washington State, who picked up two World of Outlaws preliminary feature wins in 2006.


Fellow World of Outlaws driver Craig Dollansky finished second for the second straight night, after starting in that same position. Terry McCarl charged from a 10th-place starting spot to come home third, for his second Top-Five in as many nights.


Joey Saldana, who won the opener on Tuesday night, finished fifth on Wednesday night, with reigning World of Outlaws Champion Donny Schatz just behind him.


Tony Bruce Jr., who will be contending for the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award with the World of Outlaws this season, came home a very solid seventh.


Tim Kaeding passed more cars than anyone on the night as he came from 24th to finish 11th, with Chad Kemenah one spot behind him.


Other World of Outlaws drivers that recorded Top-15 finishes included: Justin Henderson in 14th and Jeremy Campbell in 15th.


Other World of Outlaws drivers that competed in the A-Feature on Wednesday night included: rookie Chad Hillier, Randy Hannagan, Jason Meyers, Jason Martin, and Steve Kinser. Also in action on Wednesday night were Paul McMahan and Daryn Pittman.


The 2007 World of Outlaws season opens on February 9th as part of the 36th Annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop at Volusia Speedway Park.








Volusia Dirt Car Nationals


Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013