Chili Bowl


O’Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals Special Awards


Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (January 17, 2006)- A number of special awards were distributed during Saturday’s opening ceremonies for the 20th Annual O’Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals at Tulsa Expo Raceway.


Among the honorees was the legendary, now-retired Eldora Speedway promoter Earl Baltes, who served as Grand Marshall for the 20th Annual O’Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals.  Baltes ranks among the most successful promoters in the history of dirt track racing, establishing the Rossburg, OH, Eldora Speedway as one of the premier dirt tracks in the nation.


Picking up a $1,000 bonus from Advantage Trucks & Salvage for the Best Appearing car was the Harry and Louise Conklin entries of No. 5s Darren Stewart and No. 5d Gary Taylor.  The 84-year-old Harry Conklin has owned racecars for 60 years.


Several awards from the 2005 Chili Bowl Midget Nationals were handed out as well, including the Wayne Servaies Wildcard Award to New York’s Tim McCreadie.  McCreadie finished ninth in his rookie Chili Bowl appearance in 2005 before capturing the big win on Saturday night.  Past Wildcard Award winners include Chad DeSelle, Luke Icke, Critter Malone and Aaron Fike.


Indiana car owner Scooter Ellis was presented with the 2005 Ron Hughes Sportsmanship Award, joining past winners Steve Knepper, Johnny Heydenreich, Cory Kruseman, Lee Bundy, Jack Hewitt, Dave Darland, Dean Erfurth, Jeremy Sherman, Larry Brown, Donnie Lehmann, John Lawson, Ken Schrader, Randy Roberts and Lealand McSpadden.


Picking up the 2005 Kwik Change Hard Luck award was Arizona’s Casey Shuman, who was the first driver forced pitside in the 2005 Chili Bowl championship finale.  Shuman joined 2004 and 2003 recipients Kasey Kahne and Cory Kruseman as Hard Luck Award winners.


By turning in the top passing performance in a 2005 Chili Bowl preliminary feature, Illinois veteran Kevin Olson picked up the second G.W. Elkins award.  Dan Boorse captured the initial Elkins award in 2004.


A record total of 260 competitors from 31 different states competed in the 20th Annual O’Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals.


More information regarding the O’Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at





Graphics By: Page Design By:

Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013