Presents Crate Nationals


                TAMPA, FL - Griffin Kinsey of Lafayette, GA and John Pursley
of Clover, SC earned the front row spots on Friday night for the 2nd Annual
$10,000-to-win 100-lap Crate Racin' USA World Championship Race
on Saturday night at East Bay Raceway Park.  Qualifying and heat races took
place on Friday night that set the first 18 of 24 starting positions.

                Kinsey outgunned his boss and teammate Jeff Smith of
Villanow, GA to win the first 15-lap heat race in the All South Racing
Products Warrior.  The win in the first heat gave Kinsey the pole position
for Saturday night's race.  The top three finishers in the six heat races
transferred to the main event.

Smith was the fast qualifier among the 92 Dirt Late Model
Series entrants with a lap around the 1/3-mile clay oval in 16.344 seconds
driving his All South Racing Products Warrior.

Also joining Kinsey and Smith in the "Elite 18" was the third-place finisher
in heat one, Nextel Cup driver Ken Schrader of Fenton, MO in the Red Baron
Pizza Rocket.  Smith will start the big show from the seventh spot, and
Schrader will roll off from the 13th starting position.

Pursley drove the Pursley Grading Barry Wright to the win in the second
15-lap heat race to earn the outside front row starting spot for Saturday
night's 100 lapper.

Transferring with Pursley out of the second heat were the 2006
C.J. Rayburn Rookie of the Year Frankie Beard of Hartwell, GA in the Old 29
Golf Carts Barry Wright, and Jay Brinkley of Shelbyville, TN in the A+
Moving Mastersbilt.  Beard and Brinkley will start eighth and 14th

The 2006 Weekly Racing Series West Region Champion Lucky Keeton
of Toomsuba, MS earned the inside second row starting spot for the World
Championship Race with a win in the third 15-lap heat race driving the
Charlotte's Toy GRT.  Keeton just missed several crashes in his heat to
survive for the win in what was the most fiercely contested event of the

The 2006 Dirt Late Model Series National Champion David Gentry
of Lewisburg, TN finished second in the Dixon Plumbing Mastersbilt to earn
the ninth starting position in the big show, with Shannon Buckingham of
Morristown, TN earning the 15th staring spot with a third-place effort in
the third heat driving the S&S Millwright Barry Wright.

Jordy Nipper of Gray, GA picked up the fourth starting spot in the main
event on Saturday night with a victory in the fourth 15-lap heat race
driving the Scotty's Muffler Walter Newman.  The second and third spots in
the fourth heat went to Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, SC in the Swiftco
Mastersbilt, and Terry Mosley of Gilbertown, AL in the Robinson Motorsports
Trac Star.

Jason McBride of Carbondale, IL in the J.R. McBride, Inc. Rayburn won the
fifth 15-lap heat race to capture the fifth starting spot for the Saturday
race.  Following McBride in the fifth heat were Timbo Mangum of Lancaster,
SC in the Baker Electric Rocket, and Jeff Fields of Aragon, GA in the
Summerville Junkyard/WMF Race Products Mastersbilt.

The sixth 15-lap heat race was won by Anthony White of Clinton, TN in the
Stone Plus DWB, and earned him the outside third row starting spot for the
World Championship Race.  Also transferring out of the sixth heat were 11th
starting Jeff Matthews of Seffner, FL in the Night Hawk Towing Rocket and
Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, FL in the Adams Used Auto Parts Rocket.

Drivers that finished fourth on back in their respective heat races on
Friday night will have one more opportunity to make the starting field for
the big show through one of three 20-lap B-Main races that will be held on
Saturday night.  The top two finishers in each B-main will make up the 19th
through 24th starting spots in the World Championship Race.

Some of the top drivers in the country still on the outside looking in are
Randy Korte of Highland, IL, John Anderson of Omaha, NE, defending race
champion Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN, plus DLMS top 10 drivers
Zach Nichols of Cedartown, GA, Matthew Turner of Dawsonville, GA, and
Carnell Parker III of Clarksville, TN.

Other top B-main drivers include the 2006 Weekly Racing Series
East Region Champion Jason Wilson of Margaret, AL, and the Weekly Racing
Series National Championship Race winner Todd Minner of Murfreesboro, TN.

The 92 drivers entered for the 2nd Annual Crate Racin' USA
World Championship Race represented 14 different states.  Florida and
Georgia tied for the top honors with 20 drivers apiece.  Tennessee sent 14
of its best, with 11 drivers making the trip from Illinois.

Alabama was represented by seven drivers, with six from Mississippi, four
from South Carolina, three from Delaware, two from Kentucky, and one driver
apiece from West Virginia, Iowa, Nebraska, North Carolina, and Missouri.





   Crate Nationals

Copyright 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013